Perfect (An Original Poem)

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

When the sunset
is fast approaching
and our
book of life
nearly written,

we will wear the glow
of our good deeds and
the scars of our struggles,
like tattoos,
etched across our soul.

In the end our memories
will be the only mirror
into which we can smile and
find immeasurable warmth.

Like the petals
of the lotus,
life unfolds
as it’s meant to,
in every way and
in every season.

We cry tears of joy
as we finally realize
our flaws were
only lessons and
our story, it was
perfect all along.

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

This poem makes or brings an awareness of the after events of life, I can but see regret like an inability to realise that life's vanity and we may understood it wrongly. Infact I sense the afterlife and it's sense of awakening to the existence. Wonderfully written Eric wow

Thank you!

Oh definitely, I'm looking forward to us doing a piece together someday 😁😁

Eric!

You touched my soul
I just finished my tattoo last night :)
Life is perfect indeed as long as we wake up every morning because
Death is always around the corner

💜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, I'm glad you connected with this one! You are so right..."Life is perfect indeed as long as we wake up every morning." Your new tattoo is really cool. I never thought to get one there.

Beautiful poem. The human being Many times he does not realize that he has a perfect life, because instead of enjoying it with what he has, he spends his life complaining about what he lacks or does not have ... Then when he sees back he understands that his life has It was perfect but he did not enjoy it for thinking more about what he lacked.

OMG, that is definitely the case with most humans, isn't it? We're so rarely content with what we have, always longing for something just out of reach. Our lives go by in a blink as a result. The funny thing about life is abundance is often showered on those who appreciate and have gratitude for what they have.

That's right .... Gratitude is the key that opens the best doors in life. :)

Happy Day!

This is brilliant. Your touch, your words, your lines and the deep meaning right there. Well done sir.

Yes, create as many memories as possible.

Thank you so much, man!

Anytime, sir.

This kind of poem scares me at all time, seriously, I hope nothing bad happened around you that could propel this.

It is very good to see life from the perspective of death, mistakes, memories and all. Guess that is just a fragments of life itself. The afterlife is the real deal.

Nothing bad in particular but when you get to the stage of life I'm in (middle age) you begin to experience a cycle of loss, you witness mortality first hand, and it very much changes your perspective on everything.

To say it was perfect all along is to actually see mistakes as part of the grand designs of life.

Also, this poem looks more like a song, hymn or something to me, it reminds me of a song

Faded away like the stars in the morning
Losing their light in the glorious sun
Thus would we pass from this Earth and its toiling
Only remembered for what we have done
Only remembered
Only remembered

Simply Beautiful @ericvancewalton , What a wonderful way to wake up and start the week. Happy Monday my friend!❤😃😉
upped and resteemed

Thank you Karen!! I appreciate your support.

Your welcome 😀🙋😎

Hello Eric .. how are u doing? What a beautiful poem about life. Life is like a wheel, sometimes above sometimes below. Happiness and sadness always come and go. I was carried away by the feeling of reading your poem. Enjoy your day, my friend.

All is well and I hope your week is going well, Eliana. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you!

Live every day like it's your last.

Regret Nothing but learn from your mistakes.

The only time that you have control over is now.

Your account is new to me @ericvancewalton. Stopping by this morning for the first time and really enjoyed reading this poem.

As one who is considerably closer to the "end of the race" than the beginning, I appreciate the subtle points made. Like this one ...

"... realize our flaws were only lessons ..."

... which I don't know one can fully value and respect, until much more of life is "in the rear-view mirror" than "out the windshield."

I also liked the image, which went well with the poem. I hope you are enjoying a great new day!

Thank you for the follow and the kind words, @roleerob. I'm one of the few first-wave Steemians still around. So happy you enjoyed this piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73