Sacrifice (An Original Poem)

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

I've watched you
through these years
give yourself away.

It happened slowly,
nearly unnoticed,
like a slight faucet drip
with every forced smile
you handed away small
pieces of yourself.

I wonder if
you felt
it was a worthy
compromise?

Sometimes, still,
I search you
for that lost spark
of who you
once were.

I can't help but
remember
when your eyes
held hopes and dreams
instead of the scathing
sadness of regret.

~Eric Vance Walton~

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Beautiful and heartfelt poem, @ericvancewalton. I perceive these verses charged with sadness and melancholy for a being who has lost his joy. Sometimes life, with its ups and downs, breaks us hopelessly into a before and an after. I liked it very much, greetings, a hug.

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Hello @ericvancewalton, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much!

Hi Eric, how are you doing? What a good poem about sacrifice. I have read it many times to understand its contents. Is this about someone's disappointment with her ex-girlfriend. Whether past love cannot be united again. Maybe love has been defeated by revenge and regret. Have a nice day, Eric.

Hi! All is well here. We're celebrating Independence Day in America today. This poem is about someone who witnesses another person trade little pieces of themselves away by sacrificing too much for someone close to them. I think we all make these kinds of sacrifices at some point in our lives, especially when we're young. Have a wonderful day and thank you for reading!

I think the gif truly compliments the poem.

It got me wondering ... Do you find the gif first, then write the poem or write the poem first, then find the perfect gif?

Thanks, I was happy to find it! I write the poem first and then search Giphy using keywords. Usually there's one Gif that really resonates and then I know that's the right one.

Wonderful poetry to read out today that was so amazing beautifully written :)

Sacrifice! A big word that only a few understand. Sacrifice means going out of your way even when it is not convenient. If it was convenient, anyone could do it. I love the theme and tone of this lovely poem, sir. Well done, sir.

Beautiful poem, Eric and apparently each of us makes a sacrifice!

Thank you! Yes, we all do make sacrifices in some capacity.

Thank you! Yes, we all
Do make sacrifices in
Some capacity.

                 - ericvancewalton


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

@ericvancewalton, Some journeys drown with times but one thing always remains and that is Memories and Emotions associated with it. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

In love with this poem. Completely amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69684.47
ETH 3531.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73