Deftly To Ears (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Try, if only
for a moment,
to listen with your eyes.

Life will quickly teach us,
lies travel more
deftly to ears.

Our truths
dance, spritely,
like an allegro
through the symphony of
our collective thoughts.

Do we have
the courage to acknowledge
what it is we see?

Or do we keep quiet,
smile, and stay entranced
by the music?


Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

I enjoyed the flow of your words. Music is a good way to think about the collective consciousness.

Thank you, Rebecca!

Amazing composition, and brilliant poetry. Brilliant work @ericvancewalton.

Thanks for sharing this post.

Have a wonderful day! ☺

great words and you expressed it quite well thanks for sharing this interesting poem :)

Absolutely amazing poem.
This thoroughly describes life. Really beautiful

Awesome poem with beautiful wordings .
We can't listen with ears and eyes, we can listen with concentration .

Seeing is believing in my book but I'm sure you knew that.
Your poem here is something that everyone should take to heart and summon the courage.
Otherwise, the hits will just keep coming and turned up way to loud.

Amen @sultnpapper! "...the hits will just keep coming and turned up way too loud." You crack me up! The older I get the more I realize how true it is. At 47 time is too short to deal with any sort of unnecessary foolishness. : )

Very nice poem! I appreciated in a special way the sentence "listen with your eyes". Maybe they can seem simple words, but there are a great lesson to learn in that sentence.

Thank you @silviabeneforti! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

A beautiful poem, my friend and this subtle sense pushes us to take a closer look at life and what is happening around us in general! Thank you Eric

to listen with your eyes

Wow amazing, this piece is thoroughly filled with figures of speeches, I love rhetorical questions, the way you use simple words to convey powerful stuffs, it's beautiful beyond acknowledged, well written too, nice free flowing free verse

I appreciate the kind words!

Wow! It's fun to enjoy. You write with great ability. In addition, the typography is very beautiful. Thank you for giving us something beautiful and the value of the struggle to stare and achieve this increasingly complex future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98