Level Me (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Level me
with one glance
as you look over your
shoulder and smile
sweetness
with your eyes.

Our years are a dance
only just begun,
yet I know there will be a day
in some distant time
when the days grow short.

I will chuckle with content
as we sip our tea
with the dust
of a million miles
on our feet
and know that this
life was lived complete,
my dear.

Eric Vance Walton

(Image is original.)


About this Poem: The picture above is one that we recently found of my parents from the mid-1960’s. It was taken in a photo booth at a drugstore during one of their first dates. They dated for about a year before they married. I came along seven years later in 1971, then my brother was born in 1974.

Finding this picture was such a gift. In this image I see two people who realize they have their whole lives ahead of them and still are of the belief that anything is possible. They've weathered many storms and shared much joy in their fifty years of marriage.


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Cool picture. I can see the confident look on your father’s face.

Thanks! He definitely wasn't short on confidence. : )

I like this poem and photo, both timeless

Thank you, Ann!

I gave you 100% upvote and still I know it will not show up on the list since it is so little. You knocked it out of the ball park with this photo and poem.

Your parents are so lucky you wrote this. What a wonderful voice of love.

I enjoy your work. And it is true isn't it? After a life of such a close relationship. I could have written that to my husband. I shall read it to him today. 🌹 resteemed!

You look just like your father. :)

Thank you my friend! No worries about the vote weight, this has been a brutal summer bear market. The support and engagement mean far more to me than the Steem.

I originally wrote this one for my wife, long before Steemit, when we were both working horrendous corporate day jobs. I imagined what it would be like after a lifetime together once all of our dreams were achieved. I found this picture of my parents while searching through old photo albums during our last trip to Ohio and realized how this piece fit with their relationship too...I knew I wanted to pair it with this poem.

I hope you and your husband have a great Sunday!

I was so moved by the poem I went straight to comments and at first thought, it was a photo of you and your wife. LOL>> glad I saw @sultnpapper comment which gave me second thoughts enough to read the bottom part.

lovely can apply to many happy couples, contact Hallmark right away. :)

Funny! It's kind of strange to think they were half my age in that picture. I'm glad you enjoyed this one @rebeccabe!

Very touching poem, and directed for two of the most important people you will have ever had the pleasure to know in life. I hope they enjoy it and cherish it.
Have a great one.

Thank you! You're 100% correct, they definitely have had the greatest impact. It's fun to be able to spoil them a little now. Hope you're having a good Sunday. We're getting some of that Texas heat up here this weekend. The "feels like" nearly hit 100 degrees yesterday.

It is good to be validated at 100% correct every now and then, thanks.
I don't believe we will even get to the feels like of 100 today, more like 92 or 93 so you folks are kicking our ass today. We'll compare temps in four months, I think I will be back in the lead come then.

This is so touching Eric. As a very happily married man, I can totally relate to your wonderful peom. I can’t imaging life feeling this complete without my wonderful lady. 50 years! Amazing.

Thank you @dougkarr! The joys of life absolutely increase exponentially when you have someone to share them with. Fifty years is difficult to fathom, isn't it?

The imagery of the last verse is so amazing and so tasteful

as we sip our tea
with the dust
of a million miles

I couldn't really grasp the intent of this beautifup verse, but the tone seems so awesome and relaxing I almost felt like it's a lullaby really. Beautifully written poem overall, one of the best I've read from you

Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks.

Amen, amen and amen! So be it, @ericvancewalton. The image is so loving: she, looking at him as if he were her center; he, smiling proudly at the woman next to him! These are the stories that have to serve as an example, that in spite of the stumbling, continue together. As you well say in the poem, at that moment they began a story together, a story that is still written in the pages of life and that in spite of the stumbles, they still remain smiling. An infinite embrace!

I think the image you got is appropriate for this poem so full of love and sweetness. It is really beautiful😊!

Last stanza is very good and full of satisfaction .
Your parents pic is lovely .

How lucky to have such a model of commitment in your life. What a beautiful picture, and I love the poem that goes along with it. I especially like the choice of "level" at the beginning, which could have so many meanings- does she balance him? Does she floor him, like a bomb in a building? Love love love this piece and your insights.

Thanks @sunravelme! So true, my brother and I were lucky! Their kind of marriage was even getting rare in the 1980's. They kind of balance one another in different ways. My Father helped to bring my Mom out of her shell a little and she helps to ground him. They are a great example of how opposites attract and how it can work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86