Precipice (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Standing here
on the precipice
of nowhere familiar.

Feeling open,
ready for whatever
is next.

Now,
paying attention
to nothing but
the moment
and my breath.

Expectations
of anyone or anything
now seem naive.

Understanding,
the true depth
of how lucky I am
to perceive
such beauty and bliss.

My soul is strong
and these shoes
are still comfortable
because I've taken
a million humbling steps.

A Little About This Poem - This was written years ago, before Steemit. This was a particular period of my life when I knew where my dreams wanted to take me but I had no clue how to get there. It's during times like these that you must embrace the moment, be your best self, and trust the universe.

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

This poem gives the feeling of being in a borderline experience, however, feeling prepared for whatever comes next. As great warriors prepare for battle, so do men. Each one of the limiting experiences serves us to advance and not let ourselves be overcome. I liked your poem. Congratulations.

I like this poem, @. I feel the vertigo of the one who is on the edge, but also the capacity to sustain himself, to keep on collapsing because he has already lived and has gone through limit experiences. The idea of falling is a decision for life and for you to stand firm as well.

Really awesome poem and I like this poem. The lines that I liked were very good in this poem, it is

              My soul is strong
                and these shoes
                  are still comfortable
                    because I've taken
                       a million humbling steps.

It's magical, but strong at the same time, your poem. I think we've all ever been on the edge of that precipice with the question of whether to let ourselves fall or stay. The idea is to always bet on keeping up, despite how tired you are. Greetings

So what I took away from this is seizing the moment as much as you can. Paying attention to nothing...just breathing and focusing on who we are. Also love (what I took) as appreciating the little things of beauty.

Love the visual by the way.

Beautiful poem @ericvancewalton! Wonderful to stand on the precipice not knowing, but to have the excitement, trusting whatever's beyond!

Thank you, @lizelle! Trusting is the hard part but I think by trusting we attract success.

My soul is strong
and these shoes
are still comfortable
because I've taken
a million humbling steps.

Wow, what a visual.

I have heard tell of shoes of peace, it sounds like you are wearing them well, Eric.

Thanks @lydon.sipe! I made lots of mistakes in those million humbling steps but learned some lessons too.

@ericvancewalton, Absolutely great inspiration poem posted here. There are lot of meaning. I guess you wrote it through deep meditation. It came from our deep mindset. True is our depth. If our heart being strong, definitely get beauty and bliss in to life. Thanks to the perfect thinkable thoughts.

Words convey a lot of confidence to live in the moment and not to doubt what is to come in the future. I liked it, it might even be inspiring for me :).

A beautiful poem, my friend, this confidence and calm, from your lines, is inspired by the wisdom and experience of life! Thank you, Eric.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16