Rome, a poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

dario-veronesi-426327-unsplash.jpg

Rome was built in a day.
Less.
An hour, a minute, a second.
An instant.

It wasn't, then was.
Like all things, like you.

An infinite gulf between being and not,
breached without moment.

A letter,
once written,
is never delivered
until it arrives
at your doorstep.

Its seal not set
by sigil in wax,
but time.

The span of an instant.

A life
once begun
is ending already.
Though second by second,
we desperately
hold on,
drag our feet,
and delay,
fight,
and we just want...
I just want...
we just want to, I don't want to
           stay          or           go.

Paths trip down,
roads that cross over,
step by step,
break them,
halve them up,
stir up,
the inchoate masses,
the neverthelesses,
the might have beens,
the I'd never do thats,
the tears in the rain.

It's all just a treadmill.
It's all going to fade.

One moment you'll be,
the next moment you won't.
No need for fanfare,
there'll be no parade.

And in that hour,
Iike cash on delivery,
consider, that instant,
the postage as paid.


Photo by Dario Veronesi on Unsplash

Sort:  

I usually don't read poetry in English, but this one captivated me. It's beautiful and sad at the same time... Impermanence is a real thing, huh?

I'd like to read more of your poems, so now I'm following you jaja. See ya.

Nice, thanks! I've been posting one a week, heh.

I identify with this poetry.
It was emotive and real.
This part said a lot to me

A letter,
once written,
is never delivered
until it arrives
at your doorstep.

It reminds me of words left unsaid, perhaps even regrets. Well written. Followed and upvoted.

I am glad it resonated with you!

This is a bit sad, but I enjoy reading about it.
Nice poem, fromage :).

Thanks scrawly!

Yeah, I am quite a bummer, heh.

Hehe, nothing bad, my friend. Artist soul and all that :).

Great poem - truly excellent, and I'm sorry I'm only seeing this now.
I'll definitely make a point of checking out more of your work. Kudos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86