Thoughts of a butterfly who once was a greedy caterpillar

in #poetry6 years ago

I was born to a world so full of wonder, bountiful and rich
It all looked so tasty and easily in reach, I wanted it all so began to eat
The more I ate the more I wanted so I ate and ate without no hint of a glitch
At first just a little, then with growing speed, consuming so much, a glorious treat

I didn't look up, just ate and ate, why not I thought, without stopping to pause
My want consumed me and I in turn consumed regardless of real need
It was there just for me and easily reached, want it need it ...right into my jaws
So I ate and got fat, lazy and slow, but I didn't care continuing despite obvious greed

I stopped suddenly one day, swallowed then wondered, why my thoughts seemed so deep
Had I eaten my fill, consumed all around, was I sufficiently full my hunger sated?
Rubbing tired eyes, and yawning largely I found a nice spot then laid down to sleep
A lovely sleep I had, most cosy and warm, however unbeknown to me my life it was dated

I dreamed vividly in that sleep strange and wondrous dreams, so many of flight
But soon I woke emerging from my own body, bursting out, a brand new me
I had delicate wings of colour liked fragile stained glass, patterns catching the light
Away I leapt, upwards in flight, climbing higher and high for safe purchase, the leaf of a tree

I looked down on the world I'd slept in and saw something new, it had paid a price
Not as plentiful, and nowhere as green as I'd thought, it looked tired, used up and bare
Through excess and greed it had succumbed to want, consumerism and averice
Is it too late to change, quite probably it is, but change it we must for this planet we share

(Image taken today by me at Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire, England)

Sort:  

This is very beautifully written, a telling truth, albeit a sad one, on our current reality. Too bad it's only the feeling, empathetic and knowledgeable people like yourself who actually see it all, and actually care about it. Thanks for sharing.

And that's a great photo by the way; really beautiful!

Thanks Lynn. I am, unfortunately, somewhat cynical when it comes to most human beings and don't hold a lot of hope that they will have the volition, or even ability, to rectify the damage they have cause. I say they because I, in fact, am an alien from another planet. :)

I was pretty happy with the image also! I got a few more too so I'll roll them out here and there.

All the beautiful things I've seen here in England have been balanced, (well overwhelmingly overbalanced) by a healthy dose of human greed, hubris, avarice and mean-spiritedness. Point in case, Henry VIII's dissolution of the monasteries. There's many other examples though, not just that one. I guess Human's have a self-destructive nature driven essentially by greed. The same seems to be mirrored on steemit.

Anyway, the words sort of came to mind when I was in the butterfly house...The death of the greedy caterpillar and the birth of the beautiful butterfly...Which lives only an average life of a month or so. Beauty born, only to die prematurely...Like our planet.

Yes @galenkp, nature and humanity can be cruel, but also very beautiful. I know you're already jaded though, so I won't start listing examples here, but hey, you met me here, so there's one amazing thing that's come from steemit 😎

History does have some horrible instances of greed and mans' inhumanity to man. We're supposed to learn from it though. I don't need to ask you if we have!

Perhaps I'm an alien as well and that's why we have connected so well.

Bold and true mate. Isn't that just it. we can stop our greed and repair ourselves and we can do the same for the world we have to share, but will we and will it still make a difference. I think we can still fix things, but will we?

Very nice and realistic thoughts 💭

To change the world, we can do it only together. But only if every individual would participate in this change. When we change, everything around us will change too :)

I’m doubtful enough change will ever happen to be honest. One only needs to look around to see that greed, hubris and avarice is winning the day.

You are right and thats the reality we live in unfortunately, but we can still hope :(

You got a 30.53% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30