Cursed. Original Black out poetry.

in #poetry6 years ago

This poetry style is inspired by the work of @japhofin8or.

He has encouraged everyone to have a go.

1518631349361.png

PSX_20180218_173913.jpg

@japhofin8or is a steemit poet and also the host of a haiku contest with a difference.

The Ukiah Challenge.

This week's challenge is just about to finish.
Get in quick it is week 3 the odds look good, but these lucky odds will not last long, this is going to be big.

It is essentially a haiku contest, but the syllables change each week, as does the topic.

Perhaps those traditionalist poets out there in Steemland will find it a bit rebellious.
A bit risque or somehow irreverent.

But I like it.

https://steemit.com/ukiahhaiku/@japhofin8or/ukiah-challenge-3-winners-announcement-for-challenge-2


He also coloured my tired banner for me.
Thank you @japhofin8or!
I returned the gesture with my B grade degrade of his black out poetry banner. I have some work to do learning how to use digital art programmes.

IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

I hope you enjoy the haiku contest and the blackout style too.

Sort:  

The haiku challenge seems pretty rad, but didn't it end on Thursday? Just checked out his original post.

As for the blackout, that seems quite fun yet it'll take some searching to find a good page in a book I'm willing to ravage! Thanks for bringing my attention to the style!

Yep, I'm pretty sure I hit it too late. No worries, next time.

Hey Rob
Nice to hear from you.
As usual I have entered 2 contests late and caused havoc, and written dice poetry on paper and not posted.
How are you?

I like the color you added to your pic :)

@japhofin8or did it. Pretty cool gift.

This is the first Black Out poetry I've seen on Steemit. How exciting! It's one of my favourite pastimes. I'm going to have to check out @japhofin8or. Hope I can find more of it around or maybe a few contests. That would be fun!

There are a few contests rolling. This post has some poetry https://steemit.com/contest/@moneyinfant/steemit-writing-contests-issue-23-february-17-2018
@artz usually compiles a contest post on Monday, it isn't up as yet , I hope he does it soon, I am lazy.
@robyneggs has the longest one I recall poetry dice Challenge. @rensoul17 is another...
This is last weeks contest list. Many of them are weekly if you scroll through https://steemit.com/contest/@artz/steemit-contest-compilation-12-02-18-02-win-sbd-steem-upvotes-and-other-prizes
Have fun

Thanks @girlbeforemirror. I have those on my list. 😊 I was referring more specifically to Found Poetry ones.

Once I'm a bit more established and settled here maybe I'll start one specifically for that! 😊

I keep thinking the same thing. Once I'm a bit more established and settled...
18 months and I still feel like a noob. I have attempted the odd contest, but I am too unpredictable.
I did consider running a blockout contest too, I think it would be a great contest, but I know my limits, I would not maintain it. Now I am an avid contest supporter, and do my bit to promote them.
Go for it. I will enter for sure.

😁 Intesting that you've considered running a contest. I have the same concerns as you about myself maintaining it.

I was thinking of starting something to help others, and myself, get going on DTube. A sort of support group really. I set a topic, everybody vblogs about it and we upvote and encourage each other. No technical feedback unless asked for.

I did something similar on Facebook a couple of years ago and it was a big help.

But when I thought it through I realised it could end up taking a massive amount of time so perhaps I should limit the numbers. But even with only 10 people it would take 20 minutes to watch the videos without commenting. So then I though myself out of it.

Another personal challenge of mine, overthinking stuff and then not starting! 😁

I'll pay more attention to how others are running their contests and see if I can find a way (for the found poetry one) that is simple and I think I could manage.

Or, I might just wait, until I'm a bit more established and settled! 😁 😁 😁

Awesome, upvoted follow and resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11