Lost Pages

in #poetry6 years ago


Your eyes reach out to me,
And I fail them yet again.
I look away, not quite sure
How I could tell you
You should've known to move away.
I loved you, but
You stood still too long,
And now your feet can't move
And your eyes, desperate
Try to get away.
You're stuck somewhere
You should've never gone.

43952780_266357737356800_4191668028246589440_n.jpg

My hands touch the air
The place where you once were
And I forget and I banish
The thoughts of you that got away.
You sneak into my head
Like the shadow of a ghost,
Empty, screaming.
And I swallow and weep,
Because I wish, in vain,
You didn't have to empty me too.

We was a good man,
Wasn't we, my love?
Or maybe we was not.
To be honest, I don't remember
Who we were or who we'd get to be.
I just remember your eyes
Crying out after your lost chances
As the quicksand ate you whole.

I miss you.

I wish you'd read poetry to me again.

Thank you for reading.

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

You sneak into my head
Like the shadow of a ghost

So poignant.

Thank you <3

Thats really beautiful @honeydue! Sad, but VERY beautiful!

Thank youuu @jaynie <3 I'm really glad you enjoyed it! There's a lot of beauty to be found in sadness :)

Could not agree more!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77