what if i die?

in #poetry6 years ago

nature-3154646_640.jpg

I was inspired to write this poem by thoughts I had one day as I was looking at clouds in the sky


moving islands in the ocean of sky
beautiful white curtains in the sky
veiling and unveiling portions
as time passes by

i watch clouds
when my mind feels clouded

a random question comes to mind:
what if i die?

living is dying
and i'm inching closer to the grave;
as we all are

the end
it's supposed to be scary
but my heart's grown dull
and patience weary

i make plans for tomorrow
though it is a day not promised,
and i schedule for time i can't borrow

i wish i could tell death to wait a minute;
i'm working on something

it's not a bucket list
it's more of a life i've missed

i used to wait for it
expectantly;
death, that is
not wanting it to catch me sleeping
but now
i want it to happen
whenever it wants to…
i like surprises
though, i'm not quite sure if
i'll be alive to feel surprised
when i die

anyway…

i go on questioning:

why do i live so hard?
since living is dying
i might as well kick the bucket hard
and that's why i put my best foot forward
to get a good shot at it

only death can stop me
from doing what i love
from writing
but before i die
i want to fulfil the reason why
i love life so much

and if you're reading this
then it hasn't stopped me
yet


by Innocent Mwatsikesimbe (@imwatsi)

Sort:  

wao great poem ! thanks for shareing i like it ! and i am following you now .

Thanks. I'm glad you like it.

will be intrested in your next post keep it up !

I love poetry. Thank you GOR sharing

This post has received gratitude of 1.95 % from @appreciator thanks to: @imwatsi.

You got a 1.26% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @imwatsi!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Hmmmm...... We all sometimes think about this. But I ask myself what am I leaving behind. This motivate me to work hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85