Dance of Lies

in #poetry6 years ago



Edvard_Munch_-_The_dance_of_life_(1899-1900).jpg



From the beginning
You were devoted to me


I didn’t deserve such love.

You thought of me
As more than I am

Accomplished, wise,
Possessing certain skills…

I was none of these.


I don’t seek myself in things
But lie awake and listen
As the wind sings.

I am a man
Take me as I am.

At times I’m weak
And often crazy
But no one has ever called me lazy;

I take to heart what others have said
And ask forgiveness
Each night in bed.


I’m a romantic

Your finger traced
A scar upon my chest

I lied –
It wasn't a knife wound,

But a nail scrape
From sliding under a fence.

Such dissimulation…


I forgive others
The lies they’ve said

But who forgives me
When I lie awake in bed?



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

El poeta tiene muchas habilidades, entre ellas, la mejor de todas, crear mundos, inventar personajes, @johnjeddes. El que lee puede imaginar otros rostros, otras virtudes. Un poeta, así como tú, es humano, con virtudes y defectos, puede tocar orillas encantadas, pero aún así, llegar a tierra y ser real. Un abrazo en esta noche

Me encanta tu fraseo matafórico, Nancy - hermosa :)

Allowing yourself to be seen is the first step to truly feeling loved. These little lies one might tell to be appear more alluring rob the individual of feeling loved and often turns self-destructive.

Clear-eyed love ... do you think it is possible? An thought-provoking write, for sure, John.

If it is, I'm a work in progress - but as we get older we get honester - and that's something :)

I guess I am lucky because I have always gone with honesty is the best policy, but I have been on the receiving end of this kind of thing ... I think if the cons understood we often know they are doing it, they'd stop. More people are actually turned off than manipulated. I once said to a guy ... just because I don't call BS, doesn't mean I don't smell it. Politeness is often confuses with gullibility.

BTW ... we are all works on progess;)

I love the cohesion between the title of this poem and the lines in it ...
it is such a profound poem, filled with layers of meaning and symbolism to interpret...
Love it..

Thanks for sharing & have a lovely day, dear @johnjgeddes...☕☕❤

thank you for the thoughtful response :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 2.01% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations, your post received 7.77% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Nice poem. I've always told people to use internal benevolence to solve external malevolence.
Your first love is yourself, before the love around you

Thanks for your response

You are soft of heart and it shines through your poems. You are meant to be appreciated and if the difference between the simple traits of an extrovert and introvert should make someone love me less, I will be the one to forgive myself. To them, I bid no thanks.

Thank you for your comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07