Familiar Places

in #poetry6 years ago



b2aae97edccdf9b51595c0208a756e25.jpg



I think I remember
Every flat and apartment
You rented
Particularly the third story loft
In Rosedale
Where Mad Ernie
Tried to throw me
Out the window.


But we had fun
That summer
Walking the Rosedale Valley Bridge
Discussing classical music—
You talked, I listened…

And we met Joni Mitchell
And I was enthralled—
For a second,
Then came back to earth
When I realized
It wouldn’t work
But you insisted,
So we sat through every set.

In the Riverboat
We saw Gordon Lightfoot,
Listened to Jazz all night
In the village
Until the subway closed
And I rode the bus home.

I just want to thank you
For those mad times;
We were an improbable duo
And I think you knew it.

What I miss now
Is sipping coffee
In one of your old beater cars
And trying to discover
Who the hell we were…

Well, now I know
And it’s gotten me nowhere

So I’d rather go back
To that familiar state of wonder
Sitting in a car
With no heater,
Uncertain of where to go,
Sipping a cup of Joe.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Me gusta el tono de añoranza de este poema, el aire de nostalgia que se respira entre los versos, @johnjgeddes. Esa primera parte donde nos lleva a lo que fue, a lo que hizo, incluso cuando nos habla de lo improbable del dúo, todo es pasado; para caer en el presente, en donde, a pesar de la locura y la incertidumbre, se fue feliz. Eso, se añora porque se fue feliz a pesar de la limitaciones. Porque al final, el pasado es un lugar conocido. Bonita noche para ti.

Siempre es una buena noche cuando hablamos, Nancy - Sí, la nostalgia es dulce, pero tiende a pintar las sombras :)

Ah, Joni Mitchell and Gordy... such iconic musicians, and so deeply embedded in my musical mind...

And unmentioned, but surely brought to my mind by your story poem, Leonard Cohen...

Thanks for the memories!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Cohen I almost met but chickened out - long story. We followed each other on Twitter though. Joni was up-close and personal, but that was back in the Village before she became famous

Very cool... :D

The good old days have there own way of clinging on to us, sometimes with the power to still affect us just as they did then. This is a simple worded but deep reaching poem.

Thank you - as Faulkner said, the past is never dead. It's not even past :)

Very True.

Sometimes times were better. Good homage to what was and is longed for. Excellent poem, @johnjgeddes.

A well-expressed ode to "the good old days." There's a little something there for all of us. Thanks.

thanks...true, HP :)

no tengo corazon :'(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78