Ghost at Twilight

in #poetry6 years ago



925px-Whitehousenight.jpg



I see you sometimes
On the street
After sunset


I think you are a spirit.

I watch you
Stay in the shadows
And enter the woods

I know you—
I’ve entered your mind
By watching.

I’m not sure you see me
Or if we met
That you would talk to me;

I noticed you last winter
Crossing the field
In perfect stillness…

Leaving no footprints.

A snow squall
Surrounded you
And you disappeared

Into the perfect whiteness.

You left no trace
Of your presence
But disturbed my placid universe,

Marking the landscape within me.


I would talk with you
If we met;
I know all your secrets.

To enter another’s life
You are either a confessor
Or writer—

The one, admitted freely,

The other intrudes
By discerning of spirits.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Me gusta lo que logra hacer tus poemas en mí, @johnjgeddes. Eres ese escritor que crea mundos posibles. Cuántas personas podemos creer que son apariciones por lo fugaces que son a nuestros ojos. Me gusta como cambia el paisaje y la vida de algunas personas con la llegada de otras. Ir tras las huellas es de una u otra forma descubrir tesoros. Porque hay personajes que saltan del papel y caminan en la mente del escritor, otras veces vagan en la mente de quien lee. Feliz domingo.

Gracias, Nancy. Las apariciones son fugaces, como lo son algunos sentimientos, pero lo que me interesa es entrar en la vida de otra persona

You left no trace
Of your presence
But disturbed my placid universe,

Marking the landscape within me

Certain essences can indeed do this. Some energies are just so familiar and haunting. They are hard to relinquish. Gorgeous write, John:)

Thanks, Pryde - I agree about hauntings

"You left no trace
Of your presence
But disturbed my placid universe"

I wonder what the feeling of this is like....................... it has never happened to me. Perhaps that's why I find the thought so intriguing.

Beautiful words my man!

Thanks, @hashcash...that's my life...so many horrid ghosts :)

One word 'True' thank you @johnjgeddes

You got a 2.40% upvote from @upme thanks to @johnjgeddes! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Beautiful piece u got here; A heart felt poem o f feelings and thought

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations, your post received 8.70% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23