Ghost in RainsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry5 years ago



il_794xN.1782508115_bjl0.jpg



A bleak rain
Darkens the house,


Blurs the panes
And street without;

Shrinks my world
To one small room,

Where a bubbling fire
Relieves the gloom.

The storm is a mirror—
A darkened glass,

Haunted with images
From the past;

Foggy shapes
Outside the walls

Speak with your voice
And gently call.

I refuse this grief
Push sorrow away

But in the hall mirror
You appear...

Plain as day.



© 2019, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I enjoyed the imagery and structure of your poem. Excellent!

Beautiful poem.

Thanks, @giantbear - I'll give it a look

Hi @giantbear - I saw the link - Looks interesting but I'm not sure I could commit to it - I have so much on the go - I might be able to submit a story by first week in November but I'm not sure that's what you want - I've participated in chat rooms before for writers and it's very time consuming - the one thing I don't have much of these days. So if I can submit a story (and I'm not sure I can - I've got nothing right now ready to go so it would depend if anything pops by the deadline - f that's acceptable, I'll try - but if you're looking for a fuller commitment, I can't make that right now. Thank you for considering and inviting me. BTW, I'm avoiding pronouns bc I'm not sure if you're male or female and I'm trying to be correct :)

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

By allowing the image into the house, you are saying you are not really safe by hiding in the room?

I was looking at the painting above (maybe because of our previous conversation about paintinga and photos) and I had the thought that photos are prose, telling a story, and paintings (if they are any good) are poems, that reach in to the heart and show us the soul of the story

Interesting...you supposed I allowed the apparition in - but that's why I isolated the last line for dramatic effect to show my surprise when she suddenly appeared. But you showed me another dimension I hadn't considered.

I think your remarks about photos are brilliant. Every picture tells a story but paintings and photos reach the viewer differently. I like the analogy about prose and poetry. Again, you gave me something to think about, my friend :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22