I—Thou

in #poetry5 years ago



But above all, in order to be, never try to seem.
― Albert Camus



pablo-picasso-friendship-00002220.jpg



I need you
To be a listener.


You need me
To hang words on.

I am your outside
Looking back.

You are the surface
Of my skin.

We are friends since
Neither can discover

A limit
Where the other ends.

I need you
To be a listener.

You need me
To hang words on.

We are friends...



© 2019, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Trying to puzzle this one out. It does not seem to be saying friendship is a (blind) likening of another, but more of a practical need fulfilled. I'll guess I'm wrong, which is okay, it is allowed when I am only half here.

Half in and half out, Arthur? That's a familiar place for me, lol. I just read your comment re the finale to the Oracle story and there's a common thread I think - Love has both a practical and an impractical side - a spiritual aspect and a physical component. To be blunt, we need both, otherwise we fall prey to Angelism or some Platonic form of idealism. That's my attempt at being succinct, otherwise I'll go on all night :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04