Requiem for a friend

in #poetry6 years ago



mourningdove-800px.jpg



Don't bend; don't water it down; don't try to make it logical; don't edit your own soul according to the fashion. But follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly.
― Franz Kafka



I’m not sure
What the hell
You were doing
In the end;


You rented a carriage house—
A shed actually,
Behind the main house.

Your quarters kept
Getting smaller
And smaller

Like a Margaret Laurence novel

Until all that was left
Was a coffin
To house you.


You know what
I’m going to say—
And I know you hate it

But facts are facts,
A truth you can’t
Evade

And the facts state:

Grief sometimes
Comes and stays…

But emptiness
Always remains



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Hermoso y sentido poema, @johnjgeddes. Por más que nos llenemos de objetos, personas, la muerte será la única amiga al final. La muerte llega con su presencia aniquiladora para llevárselo todo, incluso aquel que no la estuvo esperando. Es ella la que llega sin ser invitada. Cuando se muere alguien, en ese triste mover de los pañuelos, sufre el que queda varado en la estación. El que se va no, el sufrir es solo de los vivos. Por eso la fidelidad contigo mismo hasta el final, porque al final nadie muere por nosotros. Te dejo un abrazo por aquí!

La agitación de los pañuelos y despedidas finales, tan poéticas, me encanta, Nancy :)

@johnjgeddes great piece of art and a nice poetry ..just felt great after reading well done sir

good poetry, you write very well 👍

appreciate the compliment - Thanks :)

This really makes you think... I love the Kafka's quote.

Gosh!!! You nailed it.

whoa.
| Your quarters kept
| Getting smaller
| And smaller
| Like a Margaret Laurence novel
| Until all that was left
| Was a coffin
| To house you.

Very profound, John. I never want to feel that closed in.

the cat sat on the mat (sorry that's the best I can do). good luck!

What's up guys, Doug Polk here! Today we're going to be talking about a way I can give back to the Crypto Community.

If you sign up using the links below I get 40% of your trading fees from the exchanges, but it does not cost you anything. I will pay you back half of what I get each week. Trust me, I don't need the money. This is just an easy way for me to give more back to the Crypto Community, and let's face it most of us can use all the help we can get at this point. I've already had 3 people sign up on KuCoin (so far).

Obviously Binance is the #1 biggest and best exchange out there. If you're new to Crypto, it should be the second place you go if you want to convert Bitcoin to some Alt Coins.

https://www.binance.com/?ref=22138069

KuCoin is #41 by volume, but it has very easy to win trading competitions. There are several per week paying out 500 people. I've never found it so easy to make several hundred dollars.

https://www.kucoin.com/#/?r=NRh88H

Also Binance has BNB Coin which saves you 50% on trading fees. Each quarter they spend 20% of their profit to burn their coins, further increasing it's value. BNB Coin is up 13,354% since July 14 2017!

KuCoin has maybe an even better coin in KuCoin Shares KCS. 50% of trading fees from both parties (buyer and seller) go straight to KuCoin Shares hodlers. You get paid every day in KCS directly. Trust me this really adds up fast. Owning up to 30,000 KCS also saves you up to 30% on trading fees.

I come from the stock (and poker) world originally, and one of the basic tenants of investing is to always invest in dividend paying stocks, and assets that actually generate income. I love Bitcoin and Crypto as much as anyone, but the main issue for me is that almost none of them right now pay dividends or generate income. The Killer App that everyone is hoping will one day arrive is already here. Exchanges make money no matter if the market goes up or down. You can too by making passive income a reality.

Please message me by replying to this on here if you have any questions. You honestly have nothing to lose, and A LOT to gain!

Thank you guys,

Doug

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76