Where I Am Now

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



1551475_10151964337452833_1471300498_n.jpg



In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer
—Camus



I can’t possibly reach you
On this February night


Mere thoughts can’t touch you
Neither can my mind

You are so far beyond me now
You changed what we once were

Part of me is here and part there,
Where you are now.


And memory paints in watercolors
Soft as the mist outside

As days go on the winter
And my heart slowly divide

With ice and melting snow
Outside my window every night

I’ve been in my own limbo
And forgotten my own life

Yet, beyond the window you wait,
In mist and melting ice

When nothing is making sense
On this February night.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

And memory paints in watercolors
Soft as the mist outside

Not sure I have an encouragement in words how perfect that imagery is. You’re a pretty good writer, John. :)

thank you, lydon :)

How wonderful! ... and such thoughts are close to me ... Thank you, I support, of course! Also I write, but not in the English ... ah!

some of my favourite poets don't write in English...Pasternak, Lorca :)

Do you read them in the original? Your poem reminded Pasternak's poems: "February, get ink and cry" ... And my poems in any too sad ... ah!)

I took slavics in university but can't speak fluently - Have a reading knowledge of Spanish - much better with French and German - 7yrs of Latin, but no one speaks that, lol

У меня все намного хуже) И родной русский я плохо знаю ... Это безответственно ...

Не за что - Я плохо говорю по-русски :)

When nothing is making sense
On this February night.

Because life itself is like that.

Always beyond the windows, melting away.

Beautiful poem. Thank's.

A poem that touch... very good work👌 and the truth the nights of February have always been difficult in all aspects of life

I love your poem and the painting is beautiful is a great contribution I like your work a greeting I follow you ..!

You will be yours and I love you very much. Thank you. I followed and hoped for the next post.

You got a 1.51% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

"And memory paints in watercolors
Soft as the mist outside" ... killer line. A well-composed and highly expressive write all round:)

thanks, Pryde

Very Nice ! But I don't understand why your mind can't touch her...

sometimes relationships are beyond logic :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34