You Let Me In

in #poetry6 years ago



jens-lindner-147624-unsplash.jpg



I brew tea and
Stare through black beads
At trees
In the street
Swaying
Like seaweed.


My arms
Suddenly empty
And lonely

Need you
To fill the hole
Inside me.


You know
The way of the wind
In the night—
The desolate alleys
My pain takes.

You know I understand
The shadings of your soul

The same way I know
The dark tincture of rain.


But maybe I need
To say it again:

I don't want flawless;

If I did

I’d have these bare walls

Perfect and empty.


So don’t hang back

Uncertainly;

I want your soul

Trapped

In the amber of your skin.

And to be able some day

To say

It rained—

And I stayed,

Not because you were

Flawless,

Or without sin...


But were finally willing

To let me in.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

A veces el peor dolor es el de las cosas que nunca fueron, @johnjgeddes, por orgullo o simplemente por no hablar a tiempo. O cuando la vida te dio la oportunidad de ver pasar la tormenta, pero sabes que no llega la calma. Somos una casa que abre y cierra puerta a situaciones, personas, momentos. Cuando vivimos de este lado de la puerta y el otro, aunque viéndola abierta, no entra, no le entregues la llave. La noche está fresca. Un abrazo

Es difícil vivir tu vida con las puertas abiertas, pero a veces confiamos en alguien lo suficiente como para darles la llave

Llave que le dará libertad a ese corazón para contemplar nuestro universo...

You know I understand
The shadings of your soul

The same way I know
The dark tincture of rain.

Gorgeous work, John:)

Thank you, Pryde

Congratulations, your post received 8.29% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Beautiful poem John.

You got a 2.13% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Touching poem

Wow... So apt.. This got to my heart. Picturing myself in the reality...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00