And Tomorrow...

in #poetry6 years ago

This poem was written by one of the greatest MC's, actors, and poets.

You might know him from his role in the film Juice, Poetic Justice, Gang Related and many other great films. I am a huge fan of music from all genres, but nothing is like the music from the 80's and 90's.

Some would say he was the greatest rapper that penetrated hearts and minds through his lyrics and views on civil rights and political cases.

What I love about this poem is that he speaks on the issues that the people were facing when he originally wrote it and how the issues yet have no solution.

And when will they ?

I hope you all enjoy the read and check out some of his films. A powerful soul that was sadly robbed of his life.

And 2Morrow

Today is filled with anger
fueled with hidden hate
scared of being outcast
afraid of common fate

Today is built on tragedies
which no one wants 2 face
nightmares 2 humanities
and morally disgraced

Tonight is filled with rage
violence in the air
children bred with ruthlessness
because no one at home cares

Tonight I lay my head down
but the pressure never stops
knawing at my sanity
content when I am dropped

But 2morrow I c change
a chance 2 build a new
Built on spirit intent of Heart
and ideals
based on truth

and tomorrow I wake with second wind
and strong because of pride
2 know I fought with all my heart 2 keep my
dream alive

https://www.poemhunter.com/poem/and-2morrow/

Sort:  

So 2pac was a poet, the guy was a real genius. His death was a big blow to the music industry. Also RIP to Bob Marley...

Music to an extent has poetry in it though with the rythm and rhymes

He was a pure genius, died way too young!

i used to i like Tupac for his creativity , RIP Tupac

Hmmm... Tupac Shakur
I never knew he was a poet though. I just loved his raps. He died at very tender age which I still find painful. I just try not to think about it except I had a pill that could bring hm back.

Nice lines!! I still always fight with my heart to ensure my dream is kept alive....

Most songwriters are poets, even if they don't know it or publish any book with poems on it. Songs must have certain rythm and that's achieved by poetry.

One of the greatest! Taken too soon!!

Very nice @joseph follow @ajaa23 share steemit

I have watched virtually all his movies and have listened to almost all his songs. Tupac was and is still the greatest rapper.

good poetry. after reading it, i got a lot of inspiration.
I will resteem, because this is good poetry.

thank you @joseph for sharing

Very good picture and your story

This poetry is coin and forged from a melancholic heart. I love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87