Abide with me......

in #poetry5 years ago

I am spent.

Frittered like gold coins emptied across the gambler's table....
even the gold dust from the creases of the chamois leather purse
is clawed out by my desperate fingers.


Image source

He is gone.

My cheek is imprinted with the waffle weave of the hospital blanket
where I have lain prone across the space he used to occupy.
I lie prone, paralysed, pathos personified in the chair beside the bed that held him captive.......
sucked him dry as a withered husk
in spite of needles, drips, pipes in, pipes draining out...........

He is gone.

Bone sucking, marrow draining raw pain had him on a rack of torture.

He is gone and there is hardly a blip in the life of the ward.
The rattle of a hospital trolley with that obligatory loose clattering wheel fills my senses until I pass out, exhausted by gnawing emotions.

I feel a touch on my wet cheek
The tuck of my hair behind my ear,
So achingly familiar
Surely a memory come to life through desperate longing.

A narrow wedding band of gold rims the horizon, promising a brand new day

I refuse to be encouraged
and roll my head away....

And yet in the grey raggy whimsy ashes of my unstructured future
stirs a barely alive coal into the barest flicker.

With my eyes tight shut I ask its name.
and my God answers on the breeze,
"my name.......my purpose is

HOPE."

Sort:  

Congratulations @justjoy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83