A Million Bridges, One Door (a poem for my son)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

EA673F60-D22F-4FB9-9881-470EBFAEB49B.jpeg


Out we go, jumping a million bridges just to find our love’s favorite places coming back to us. There is no tomorrow when today is shining like this.

We’d be fools to pretend there’s never static. Never fires. Never misunderstandings waiting around every corner. But the final lessons were always just leaves blowing in the trees. Small waves lapping themselves back into the sea.

DE0B9DAC-5F2A-4257-9B37-D886CBCC6149.jpeg


Can you feel the remarks of a thousand dead ears falling on the laughter and menace of one act done well? One timely word? That’s what this is: an exercise in innocence.

Where does it all come from, and where does it all go, and why do people argue and bicker when they really love one another?

I’m not sure, but the stormy seas of darker days are sure to make the sunlight and calm all the more enticing and lovely as long as our compass is still in tact.

7BB7C94D-38AA-497D-AE0E-390BB67E3587.jpeg


I wish I was better. Wish I could be less erratic and riddled with fears. I hope I am showing you an okay way. More often than not, though, and maybe always, I feel the truth of the matter is: it is you who is showing me.

3B64317C-D196-4B14-A6FE-98120879CD68.jpeg


When your mommy and daddy argue, is it hard? I’m sure it must be. Caught in the maelstrom of silly words smothered in the toxic causticy of pain and distrust.

AF6C76B6-DC11-43B8-B1A5-6DC9C6E7F444.jpeg

The bond of love remains. It was never even our choice, but our choice to honor it. I think our ship is finding its way, though living free in an unfree world comes with pressures of its own. They are not your responsibility, and I wish to shield you as much as I might.

Beyond that, though, is a door. I hope to open it for you, but it seems you are already on the other side, asking me to come in, too.

~*~

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DLive and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Your son is too cute man... May God bless him and u.... Ur having a great bond with your beloved son, that is a great thing..

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

MASSALLAH you both are looking cute togather, my prayers are with you.

so sweet baby..i like your poem.

ha ha so funny

AF6C76B6-DC11-43B8-B1A5-6DC9C6E7F444.jpeg

As parents we always want to give the best example to our children and that is why God allows us to be parents, they see us as great heroes, and we must take care of our testimony as a united family, according to how they behave as husbands, that will be the information that your son will process as he grows, we know that in every marriage there are discussions, but do not do it in front of him, take care of your baby's mental health, all that depends on you two, I know you have been and will be a wonderful father while walking to the side of your son, take care of him a lot, he is beautiful, a gift from God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77