A Long Way to Go

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes the state of the world overwhelms, echoing in the microcosm of my mind and intensifying the emotions that come as I do my best to navigate life.

Words help. And thank Goddess for music. And yoga.


tree circle


This photo was taken by Nat Anfield at a yoga class I taught many moons ago.

This is a powerful image, to me, of people standing tall on their own, balancing as best they can yet supporting each other at the same time. This is the hope I continue to hold for the world, that we can do this as a human race. But sometimes I get frustrated, because it seems like we still have such a long way to go.

linebreak

Riding the waves.


I’m hanging on to my surfboard over here, riding the waves of emotion that come, doing my best. This being human thing isn’t as easy as it looks. ;)

Thanks very much for reading.

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jatinhota, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @poetsunited, @steemgigs, @noblewitness, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @c0ff33a, @sapphic — there are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

beautiful and came from your heart.
Yes, words help so much when it is all bottled inside.

I'm so grateful for all the creative outlets I have—I need them! lol! ;-)

Thanks for visiting, Snook. Much love, my friend.

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

This post loves Team Good Alpaca. ;)
purrrrrrr

Take care of each other, share what we have, Build bridges of kindness, share laughs.

Exactly! :)

Yes. :) And I see it happening, all over the world, face to face, and online. I love how many connected circles of humanity have been forged on this platform. Thank you for the support you're showing me, @vitkolesnik, and thank you @fuzzyvest and #whaleshares and @isleofwrite as well (forgive me if I've left out any of the sponsors—y'all rock!).

The Daily Bread Poetry Contest has been one of the most generously supported writing contests I've entered, and I'm still blown away that I won. So much gratitude. You've built a bridge, and I commend you for your support of creative writers on the Steem blockchain.

This being human thing isn’t as easy as it looks.

isnt that the truth,

a greta poem, and we have to keep hope that times will chaneg and people will become more humane

I think times are changing, and people are building those bridges. If I look for what's working, I see it. If I look for what's not working, I see that too—and have strong feelings about it, obviously. lol! Thanks for your comment and encouragement. 💖

I vote @katrina-ariel for president of the world! (But only because I know that with those views she will be leading from among us! ;) )
I love the line "let the children shine" - I am a firm believer that the way our society has been set up, the way we are "supposed to" educate and raise our children is oppressive, controlling and unfair. I think one of the best ways to move society in a direction of positive change would be to completely change the way schools work and to parent from empathy and respect instead of control and rules.
I really love your poem! It should be a creed for social change!

What a nomination, I'm honoured! I'd be a horrible politician, though. I'm too honest and often don't know when to keep my mouth shut, but transparency is a good thing, right? It would be lovely if the dirtiness of politics could shift to respectful diplomacy. I see it happening in some places in the world, and on smaller scales, so hopefully we're on the right track.

I think one of the best ways to move society in a direction of positive change would be to completely change the way schools work and to parent from empathy and respect instead of control and rules.

^^ Yes!

Thank you for the lovely comment!!! 💖

🤗 Transparency is good! Too many politicians are playing under the table..
It is a start, just unfortunately very unlikely that we’ll see the changes in our lifetime!
You might like this documentary Schooling the World
Just puts into perspective how much control the people we call leaders have over us and how effective it is been for their plan for capitalism and consumerism...
“If you wanted to change a culture in a generation, how would you do it?
You would change the way it educates its children.”

What a beautiful picture, of "humans" joining together. I enjoyed reading both your poetry, and post. For sure up voted and resteemed, as well as following..

Love and light...

Wes

#fiverepliesaday
#fiverad

wesphilbin_red.png

Thank you kindly! I'll check out your blog as well. And yay #steemusa!

Being human is more difficult than 'adulting'. Good piece sweets. Mucho loves🤗😎

Good point! Both are hard, though, lol! Adulting. sigh

Thanks for the comment love! 💖

Build bridges, yes, build bridges! We do have a long way to go but we are walking the right path and we will get there. Much love honey, this was such a lovely thing to read 💚

Aw, thank you! I agree, I think we are definitely on that path. You and I, dancing together with all the other stars shining bright. 💖

The anger poisons if you keep it in. Letting it out through poetry isn't a sin... Katrina ;-)

Seriously though, what I said in that silly poem I completely believe. One of my fav bands to listen to when I get that feeling is 'Rage against the machine'. When the perpetuation of this demented system of consumptive capitalism that is bleeding our planet dry like a vampire, gets me seriously wound up, I just wack a bit of rage on super loud lol. It's a bit heavy but it just echoes my thoughts and helps me exorcise them.

Around 1.45 minute the lead singer speaks these words: 'Anger is a gift'.... sometimes it can be because we sure as help ain't living in a state of freedom.

Having said all this it is important not to let it bother you, but just not to forget also. That's just my opinion and how I deal with the negatives this world throws out. I love your poem by the way and the sentiment at the end :-)

^^^ 100%!

I listen to a bit of Rage from time to time, and yes, anger can be a gift. It can motivate us to change, and I think part of that change is speaking about it, saying it's not okay. Reminding each other that we're not alone.

Poetry helps me get the feeling out—music is another excellent outlet—and then it's so much easier to move on. Thank you for the fabulous comment!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87