POEM: Whirlpool

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

ocean


Poetry is often like bleeding words, or painting therapeutic pictures of moments in time. Thoughts and emotions are purged into art.

line

Whirlpool


It’s sweet of you
To ask how I feel,
But I don’t think you
Really want to know.
This weight isn’t yours.
You probably have
Enough heavy
Of your own.

Or maybe you walk light,
Like I used to,
Though I’ve always
Gone deeper than most.
You don’t need this.
Keep your stride free,
Dance in the aisles.
Smile. Keep Spirit alive.

I isolate myself.
It’s safer that way.
Withdraw with this
Fear that dogs me,
This dread of internalizing
Every swing of mood
And stubborn resistance
I have to face.

Terrifying,
Confronting myself,
This out-of-control,
Inescapable commitment.
But it isn’t yours,
And I don’t wish
To burden you
With my struggle.

Yes, I do see
The beauty, the joy:
Rainbow glittering snow,
Majestic eagle atop tree,
Water with its crust of ice
Upon which I've walked,
Blue canopy witnessing
The enduring of earth.

Nature reminds me
Why it’s worth it,
Gives me a way
To ground myself.
But I get caught in whirlpools,
And sometimes the surface
Is so far away, I’m not sure
If I can swim to the top.

Original writing by Katrina Ariel.

line

All good over here. No worries. Just writing words.

Been focusing on self-care and manuscript revisions, even picked up my guitar last night and practiced my latest song, so that’s good.

Sometimes the waves get low, but the ebb and flow balances things out eventually. Ride on.



Thanks for reading. :)

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Top photo credit: Sarah Lee/Unsplash, gif via giphy.com.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of life.


alliance banner

Sort:  

Pain with hope. That's what your poem said to me. Much more elegantly, of course, but...

As I was reading it a song from Bill Withers came to my mind "We all need somebody to lean on..."

Thanks for another great poem.

What a beautiful poem @katrina-ariel, it really touched me. Many of your words really resonate with me as well. You have an amazing spirit, a gift that you are able to create such beautiful words with such hope and honesty. A gift I certainly wish I had :) Thank you for sharing, I too believe nature is so cathartic?

I can find myself in many of those words no doubt. Especially for the past 5-6 months. It has been a struggle, and there were tough times, but it is important to keep pushing for the surface. Through struggle is how we grow, and evolve into something better and stronger.

So no matter what let's keep "swimming" and reaching for the surface. Eventually, we will get to the top. :)

That was an awesome poem, my friend. So many emotions in those words. Thank you for sharing it with us. Have an amazing day. :)

... picked up my guitar last night and practiced my latest song, so that’s good.

Learned a new cover tune, the other day, for the first time in a long time. Stopped playing completely, without even a guitar, for some time. It was as if my expressing myself had run its course. 😎

Dance in the aisles. 🕉

✌💛

Glad to hear you’re playing music again. My guitars spent years in the closet, and I remember how good it felt to bring them out again. Yes, keep dancing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

OMG.. I looove your poem and I can relate to this in SO many ways ❤️ not burden others with your feelings or thoughts, but honey you are allowed to burden others with your hearts sorrows as I know you are there for others 🤗
It's amazing how you can put words on your emotions in beautiful ways like a poem.
I loove you so much my friend 🤗💕🌹

Posted using Partiko Android

Love you back! 😊 Thank you for being you, and being there for me. Sadly, I think there are far too many people who can relate to this poem, which is why I had the courage to share it. Good to remember we’re not alone. 💞🤗💞🤗🌹

It's the kind of word you'd adress to your child but don't allow him/her to read them, at least until he/she grows up :)

Wow @katrina-ariel,
This is really heart touching,l have not word to say about your post,l'm really speechless,
This is amazing 👌

This is magnificent! A truly wonderful, exploratory, and poignant piece! 💙 And yes, those darned whirlpools... 🏄‍♀️

Love everything about this poem, the words, the feels, the hole—everything. You inspire me @katrina-ariel.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can relate to it and Nature is also my grounding but sometimes I'm also trapped and stuck in a turmoil just gasping for air.
You write beautifully Katrina, a gift!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67