POETRY: The Yin-Yang of Self-Doubt and Self-Realization

in #poetry6 years ago

Self-doubt is a long-time acquaintance. It’s no friend of mine, though I’ve known it my whole life. It shadows me, holds me back when all I seek is to be free.

Doubt wraps me in thick fog, smothering me at night. As if I didn’t have enough to think about, more than enough fear to fight.

I keep dreaming, writing, singing, living, despite the doubt that plagues me. The only way through this life, I know, is to remain as strong as I can be.


Namaste
Photo: Nat Anfield | Model: Katrina Ariel

linebreak

Opening


The ocean of my life opens wide
Revealing limitless space
My inner rhythm moves with the tide
The wind smooths my face

I open my eyes to the sunlight
Shining in the depth
It rises in my soul bright
Smiling through my breath

I’m dancing in the waves high
Letting go of fear
Water the colour of the sky
Shows my true self like a mirror

Still I find a darkness
Hiding around my heart
Swirling in a wall of mist
With no ending and no start

I know behind this lurking block
There is a power within me
That opening my heart, it will unlock
Revealing the true meaning of FREE


Original writing by Katrina Ariel

linebreak

I’m aware that self-doubt is something a lot of people deal with, so I hope by sharing these thoughts and words that I help someone else know they’re not alone. We can lend each other strength simply by being honest and determined not to let doubt win.

Keep believing in yourself. Thanks so much for reading!

Take care of yourself, you are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @curie, @enginewitty, @jatinhota, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @poetsunited, @steemgigs, @gtg, @pfunk, @swelker101, @ausbitbank, @noblewitness — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Beautiful as always :)

Lovely poem and yes I know thatv"woe" somehow I did befriend it

beautiful poem. Keep dreaming, writing, singing, living. What a wonderful combo to navigate life.

Right there with you.
And when the doubt gets overwhelming, the only way around it is through. Beautifully written, thanks!

Congratulations @katrina-ariel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @katrina-ariel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful poem and photography

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79