Authentically Yours

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Nothing quite opens my heart up like writing
Nothing quite makes the world feel right again like writing
Dripping tears and blood onto paper
Dissecting the insides of my heart and brain with a pen

Healing all the open wounds with ink
Putting the jumbled and broken pieces together with words

It is my balm
It is my nectar
It is my essence
Expressed on paper

Without pride, prejudice or guile
Stripped bare
Nothing to spare
Only my voice to share

It is Who I Am
Displayed on paper


We each have that one thing that does it for us. Switching on a divine connection, a transcendental experience, your magic portal.

I have always found mine in writing. It is the one place I can be myself, unabashedly, authentically me.

On days when I just can't take it anymore, or feel lost or disconnected, writing connected me to a greater source of wisdom and love, one I cannot hide my heart from no matter how hard I tried. As a result it made me more open and vulnerable.

It took years before I could actually share these most intimate moments with the world. In fact, a few years ago when I first started sharing my pieces on Facebook I had such bad anxiety attacks I had to go and hide the post from public view.

One day, I finally grit my teeth through it and decided it was my personal experience of courage to express who I was, as I was, and leave it at that. The easiest way was to shut the computer soon after and go to bed.

What I didn't expect to find the next day, is the effect it had on people. Each person who read it, had their own experience, it touched them in someway. It took a while for this to sink in. But as I read all the comments, I learnt to trust in the magical connection between heart and pen, as it had its own intelligence. I realised I was merely an instrument, it immediately put the small personal sense of "me" aside to allow the "writing" to happen, without an ego mind or limiting beliefs.

It was my first step in authenticity. To express a deeper truth from within, and learning to stand by that voice.

What about you? What is the one thing that does it for you? What Lets you express who you truly are? Do you have your epiphany through writing too? Please do share your experiences below.

Don't be afraid to express yourself, no one can say you are not you-er than You! :)

Sort:  

Music and looking at fine art is what does that to me!

Hey @kchitrah,

Nice poem!

Also thank you for the advice about joining groups.
One of my pieces (Bitcoin, John McaAfee, The Sultan.....) got noticed and a person got me in touch with a global crypto magazine. They want me to write for them when I have some spare time :-D

Will be Skyping with them Friday!

How awesome is that!!!

Anyway hope all is good at your end.

Peace,
@shenobie

That is super awesome! So happy for you. :) And thank you for sharing the wonderful news. All the best for Friday, and keep the good content coming!

Thank you @kchitrah,

Love the work you have been producing. You really put a lot of passion into your writing whcich I believe a lot of people can learn from.

Stay Eximious!
@shenobie

Thank you, it's kind of you to take the time. Sorry it's taken a while to reply. Was busy making history at our epic general election in Malaysia.

And now I need a dictionary, there's to rest for the witty.

And how was your Skype chat?

Btw, there's the welcome wagon by @dreemsteem, who help out new steemians.

Hey!

I trust all is good at your end!

Yes, this messaging over Blockchain is strange, and I will look you up on Discord for sure.

The Skype interview went well. I did get it but had to reject it! There was a misunderstanding as they want a full-time Analyst to write for them and I am happy doing what I am doing in the real world!
I guess I am content dishing out my knowledge and experience without compensation!

Ok, I gtg as my flight to Edinburgh is about to leave. I have a week-long project there, so will hopefully catch up on Discord next weekend.

Peace,

Avi

Ps: I love your explanation of Gutei’s Finger

Awww. Well hey, if you ever get bored of your day job, you know where to go.

Yes. Catch you on DM.

Thank you, glad you liked the one finger.

Edinburgh sounds fun. Be sure to take some nice pics and post it on Steemit, ;)

Cheers

Hey!

It has been a hectic week. And I would not have it any other way :-D I travel back this afternoon and have some pics taken while i was out for a run..... Not postworthy especially when I have Deadpool 2 to discuss (shrieks like a teenager)

I am just getting back to my replies and thought about how to stay in touch.

Have you heard of Protonmail (https://protonmail.com)? It is an encrypted swiss based free email service (if this plan is selected) and it uses ToR to relay messages so it is really awesome for security.

You can email me at [email protected] instead of Discord which is far less secure.

If you do decide to set up an acc with them they don't ask for your your life history. It literally takes two shake's of a lambs tail :-)

Peace,
@shenobie

Oh right, Deadpool is out. Seems to have a lot of people excited. Will have to go check it out.

No @shenobie, I haven't heard of protonmail. Oh my goodness, can I be honest, there's just too many apps and programs to keep track of personally, I don't think I'll be signing up for another one.

Discord isn't safe enough....are you planning to have some sort of highly secretive conversation. When you said you loved your day job, you're actually a spy aren't ya? ;p

I'm good catching up with you out here in the open! LOL, may provide some mild entertainment down the road.

Have a good weekend.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17