The Unseen Young

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

The Unseen Young

In the haunting chill of the neon night
vanished children seek a place to hide
Their silent screams echoes through
the stinking streets not belonging to you

Run for cover take refuge from the cold
with night comes sorrow buried in yesterday’s mould
I wipe my tears with sweet lullabies
behind the rubble of my mothers lies

On my knees, yes I will beg
at a grave next to my daddy’s bed
Please sir look deep inside
these two eyes they tell no lies

Paper-prints on my skin
tells the story of the world within
Show me love I’ve never seen
to heal these scares deep within

G. Koevert

With winter approaching Johannesburg, South Africa the thought of our homeless kids out in the cold winter streets, really keeps me up at night. It’s just wrong that in 2018 kids should grow up without homes, without people who care or any kind of hope for the future. The sad part is that most of us go about our daily life totally ignoring this huge problem. Sometimes just sharing a bit of love with those who don’t have could change the direction of their path. Just something to think about.......
Sort:  

I see the picture is yours too. Wow @koevert! Your talents are endless!

This is a great piece and I hope many read it and will be touched in the same way I was!

This post has received a 0.80 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @koevert.

Congratulations @koevert! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

  1. Run a task on Kryptonia.
    *For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here: Kryptonia Account
  2. Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for 100% vote.
  3. Steemit reputation score above 25.
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82