'It All Adds Up' - a Poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Coin Corks

Divider

once I was no bigger
than a penny

forged resentful

but I’ve come to be
appreciative,

of just how easily
I might have been another
down the well

a thing to wish on.

when I turned eighteen
I got a cork
with twenty pence
lodged in,

then on my twenty-first
a whole pound coin.

remember son, she said,
they don’t come
any bigger

Divider
@lazarus-wist
Divider2
Just out of curiosity;
is putting coins in corks a British thing,
or do people do this everywhere?
Divider 3
Original Words and Image

Sort:  

Ummm, this poem made me think of so many things related to coins that happen to people: tossing a coin in the wishing well, haha, how naive, and yet everyone has done it! Flipping a coin to decide something, or your strange putting coins in corks, that surely doesn't exist in Russia, although we have a nice habit to put a copper coin to a place that hurt )))) Sometimes your child falls and he's hurting, and you have nothing to help hm with but a coin in your pocket, and you say that it'll make him feel better, and it does...

The first two lines of the piece read to me as a fetus. You know, we're all "fetus" in some way, learning and growing all our lives, discovering, changing. I loved this image, it made me stop and think!

That's adorable about the copper coins. Really shows the power of the mind as well, and the healing touch of a parent's assurances :)

Glad you caught that in the first two lines! This piece is definitely a reflection on growing up, for me.

Never heard of this in the USA, why do they put coins in corks where you live? I am curious.

It's a birthday celebration thing, for those big milestone ones :) Usually using the cork from the champagne or wine bottle which the celebrations were commenced with! Interesting that it doesn't seem to be so widespread, I'd always assumed it was the done thing, haha.

Interesting, I learn something new every day. :-)

I thought this was only done at weddings and I only encountered this in England so I don't know if it is done elsewhere ...

I was starting to think it was just my family's odd tradition, haha. Guess that answers my question ;)

I do not know this tradition. Though if anyone wanted to give me money stuffed in a cork, I sure wouldn't complain. I was going to ask about it, but as my teacher's used to say, "keep reading", and I learned 'real good' from the comments. I like that tradition. We need to start it here. Anything with stuffing coins my way, after offering Champagne, is a tradition that should be watered and cultivated well.

Loved your poem. The first part about going from an idea to reality and a little tyke, and how easily we all might have been flushed. At least that's how I took it. And then the end twist. I know very little about poetry, but often think I do. Love your works, keep the words flowing.

A little bit of cash with every bottle opened would suit me just fine, haha. I'm quite protective over these particular corks for some reason, the thought of cashing them in would be mortifying!

Thanks mate, and you've hit the nail on the head too. Poetry doesn't always have to be so mysterious :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75