How I Got Here: a poem about existence

in #poetry6 years ago

Growing up, my Dad always told me a story about a well.

He’d say he had this dream where he was standing at the edge of a well in the middle of the night. Except, it wouldn’t actually be him in a physical sense, instead it was his soul and energy.


poss2.jpg


Growing up, my Dad would say that inside of the well were all the possible lives and options in the universe.

He’d tell me that he would dive into the well until he found a life, and then he would live it. He told me that its a never-ending cycle and that we will all find ourselves standing on the edge of that well one day.

Last night I was thinking about my Dad and this story, so I wrote a little something. Hope you enjoy and I welcome your thoughts in the comments!


poss.jpg


How I Got Here


Then it was dark and I was floating.
I’m standing over a deep well looking in.
There’s no pail, but I can feel it’s filled
to overflowing with lives and possibilities.

I’m not alone. There are hundreds of us.
Standing around this well looking in
at all the possibilities.

So close we could reach out and
maybe touch them
maybe grab them
maybe hold onto them.

I reach out,
my fingers brushing
poverty and talent
love and triumph
heartbreak and hatred.
Each life a perfect circle
of possibilities.

My fingers tangle in a life and I am falling.
I am here now, and I’m not sure
if this is a dream, or if I had a choice.
But it is beautiful.



All images from Unsplash!


View more of my recent work.


ART MIX-UP CONTEST 06 | Theme PROTEST/15 sbd in prizes!
Exploring Orcas Island in the San Juan’s | Photo Album
Janelle Monáe Just Released a New Visual Album!🔥
I haven’t had a drink in 4 months (and I think I like it).
My Anger is a Factory | Entry for @TeamGirlPowa Feminist Fire Poetry Contest
Lessons From My Acting Teacher: a poem and argument for the arts
Why Telling A Story is the Most Powerful Way to Change the World | Introducing the #PowerofStory Challenge


Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Ooh, I love this, thanks for sharing!

my fingers brushing
poverty and talent
love and triumph
heartbreak and hatred.
Each life a perfect circle
of possibilities.

Dang, yes, so good! ❤️

Oh thank you so much, your opinion means a lot. Thank you for reading and supporting! <3

This reminds me a little bit about the myth of Ceridwen and her cauldron.

Yes! The cauldron being a bit like the well? Love this analogy and appreciate you stopping by!

it sure is beautiful, I really loved this poem, it is so inviting in it's imagery and so true in how we all look in on some opportunities in our lives unsure of which way to proceed xx well done @lilyraabe

Thank you so much for supporting, I appreciate it! And have been loving your posts of late! :)

Recently we celebrated family's day

Aw, I love it! I was thinking it was a little funny to write this the day after “mothers day” but hey--parents are parents haha. :)

I loved it!

my fingers brushing
poverty and talent
love and triumph
heartbreak and hatred.

This stanzas struck a chord with me. ;0)

Thank you so much for the support, I appreciate it and so happy some of the words hit home, appreciate you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15