" Night, Ma' "(Whaleshares Poetry Challenge #11)

in #poetry5 years ago

I used to be scared of the night-
Sometimes when I'm alone I still am.
And I'm embarrassed to say it, well,
Because I'm afraid they wouldn't understand.

You see, we didn't have much,
Apart from our circumstance.
And sometimes that's the worst thing-
Through and through.

But it's as if the night were my shoes-
I'd reach for them at the door mat
And they never quite fit
Like they're supposed to.

It's still a burden and you don't even know.
Still feels like my dirty secret, yet
Only is it yours
It wasn't mine at all.

You loved the bar, the alcohol
More than you ever loved me
I'd wake up to an empty home 20 years ago
And even now at night I still can't sleep.


© This writing was created by and remains property of the username, lionsmane. It is to be claimed as an original piece only on whaleshares and steemit under this username. Creation date: March, 2019

Disclaimer: I do NOT own the rights to the photos used within and will gladly take any photo down at the request of the owners/creators
LINKS TO PHOTOS USED IN THIS POST: (Add "https://" to the link)
#1)cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2017/08/22/00/56/child-2667485_1280.jpg

Sort:  

I was fortunate to not have lived by either of my parents and don't remember much from the times I did and it was supposedly worse when they were together. Well written and I think many will relate on some level of addiction that removed the parental figure. !tipuvote 0.5

Thanks, man. I'm glad you were able to avoid some of those difficult times. You seem very capable and talented; I would say you persevered, whatever the case.

Posted using Partiko Android

This hits home with me. My father was an alcoholic during the earliest years of my life, but he stopped cold turkey when I was around 10. It was miraculous! Then, unfortunately, I went through a marriage with a woman that turned alcoholic. Not a good place to be in any case.

Yes, I have several stories. One of the biggest was when my mother overdosed while I had my friend spending the night. I woke up to the flashes of an ambulance and my older brother (who lived with my father, my parents were separated). He said she tried to kill herself and he took my friend and I to my father's. I stayed up all night not even knowing if my mom was alive. One of the most gut wrenching days/nights/weekends of my life. Worst part was no one talked about it on either side of my family (parents were divorced) so it was something I had to really comprehend and deal with on my own. I've several stories, but yeah that one really sticks out relative to my poem.

I'm so sorry you had to endure alcoholism as well. It sounds like if anyone could relate, it is you. I guess if there's any resolve for the moment it's that I'm glad my post resonated with you.

P.s. if I don't respond to stuff or am just generally less active on steemit it's because my RC is so low

Np. I know how that goes. :)

This was my submission into whaleshares' poetry contest. This contest had a theme that we were to follow: night/nighttime. While you obviously can't enter the contest through steemit, I just liked the poem and decided to share it here. Thank you to anyone who reads this or supports my writing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @lionsmane! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

This post is supported by $0.28 @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service always profitable, instant upvotes | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73