S oul'd O ut S hell (92)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

sos.jpg

A weathered vessel
on the sea
past the cove;
so lonely with her
centered mast
towering above,
her sail
in tatters.

The figurehead
fiercely facing
the gales,
her berth
wide enough
for two.

I heard
you went
overboard
trying to save
her.

Sort:  

Enticingly ambiguous, tragic-romantic. Dunno, exactly, what it’s about. But, don’t need to, to enjoy language and effect of twist in last stanza...

I had a much larger piece and cut it way back. There is so much to play with when pondering Maritime language. I’ve always been enchanted by how so many of the words, terms, and ideas from the sea/ocean, and vessels have made way into the English language of America (at a slant) in common things such as Berth, soul, banks, etc.

Thank you for these words, Yahia. :)

Very interesting and, of course, the sea/ocean figure quite prominently in mystical poetry as well.

I remember reading Baudelaire’s journals, as a young man, and being struck by the parallel he draws between the ocean and the Infinite. Yet, even snorkeling one can experience the numinous... 🙏🏼

The watery undertow unleashes a dramatic narrative and visual imagery. I really love the oil painting close up, semi-obscured it becomes abstract color and texture as the figure surfaces. A very inspired composition @MamaDini!

I am enjoying using these closeup shots of my paintings and so many that are in the works too, they kind of live many lives by being publised here... little snap shots in time. <3

Thank you, JP.

Visit my account — regardless if this poetry is about love.

In my mind’s eye, I vividly see the painted strokes of turmoil in the foamy waters.

I think this poetry is about swimming in the deep blue sea (or ocean).

And the “to be or not to be” of live vests.

And about hearsay.

Don’t forget to visit my account.

Disclaimer: all requests related to account visiting are made in jest and sarcastic mimicry.

Oh, I enjoy your take on this. Thank you @hrissm :)

You’re—

I enjoy your giving on most post-ings.

And I really didn’t intend for any reciprocal account visiting but of course it goes without saying that your feedback is more than appreciated and

—welcomed.

Hehe

:)

I ALWAYS enjoy your presence round my blog and am grateful for it. You usually bring something for me to ponder, or something that makes me chuckle. :)

:D

I like interactions. That are real. And I get that feel, here. So I’ll be around, until I’ll be a square. Ha. Or until I stop speaking accidentally intentionally in poetry.

haha... Well, don't be square.

amazing poetry @mamadini, is this poetry about love, i am impressed @mamadini.
visit my account.

Thank you.

Do you think it is about love? What are your thoughts as to what is being presented here?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Niish (mamadini at steemit) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I like definite ending, with "her" as a separate verse. However, i am wondering whether interpunction is inevitable in this poem. My intuition is that it is often burden on poems rather than added value.

I agree with you on the “idea” of punctuation in some poems; however, I like to play around and as far as I am concerned, a poem in Never finished until it’s in hard print — just like any painting still in the studio is never finished. haha.

Haha. Yes, to some extent, i agree. Poem is ever transforming entity. But exactly because of that i am kind of sceptical of hard print. I mean, i have published two hard print books in Polish so far. They are, nevertheless, nowhere near to be complete representation of my poetry :) .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94