The Elephants That Sway (Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

I starting writing this on the plane when I was flying back from Houston after a funeral and finished it after my grandmothers funeral. This one is about elephants yes, but it is deeper and more about freedom, emotion, and pain for all.

Elephants have great memories and endure so much pain in their captivity. We as well remember immense pain, but do we do enough about it or to prevent it? I am not sure, but this expression has helped me get closer to an answer that feels right to me.

niabi7.jpg

The elephants that sway,
It isn’t because they are okay.
Far from it, their destination of freedom has decayed.
They just wish it could be more natural, with less loss in the fray,
Because of, because of the suffering, constant remembrance of the pain.
The fleeting escape, the feeling and emotion, the loss of the sane.
Memories constant, no retreat, no safe space, no illustrious plane.
Three dimensional with stagnation all the same,
But the lessons of metamorphosis will always remain.
This all occurring while you watch and observe the cruel circus and game.
Your are patron but not a saint, that is.
Made with the lack of strength and confidence,
To help free them and end this barbaric human nature and way.
So will they rise above and will you be there to see the day,
That the elephants stop their sad and lonely sway?

stee.jpg

Please give me a follow here on Steemit, check out my travel website and join my doTERRA essential oils team!

Sort:  

Amazing work there
Elephants memory.
Lol
Anyway, im just a junior poet and ibhave my first work done and its on my .
i may love to hear you inthe comment .
Thank you

God bless your grandmother
Yes , elephants have a long memory
I love elephants I do not Know why

This lonely sway is not from things we know
It's a sign that they are missing home
For as sadness shows, so does joy
A pat on the back and our bidding employ
Elephants, majestic, sturdy as tree stumps
It's from love that we feed them our peanuts
Give them that freedom, they hardly seem eager
Yet they can even swim the Rapids in India

As in my contry, Venezuela. We say Good Bye to "Ruperta". 48 years old.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04