Throwback Poem-Off: Closure (Original Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

The saga continues (cue the music!) with my latest entry into the poem-off with @uniwhisp.

I will admit, rhyme-wise this is not one of my best, but it plays the perfect inflection to @uniwhisp's latest, which you can read here: Love's Goodbye

Closure

I was there for you
But that’s not what you wanted
He ignored you
And that’s what you needed
Spellbound by trying to prove yourself
You are a slave to his trance
I showed you a woman’s worth
And you lost interest
I’m playing second fiddle, that became blatantly clear
You really don’t see it, you’re such a slave to him dear
Fool I am for thinking this had a chance
It wasn’t that your heart was surrounded
But occupied by another man’s dance

Steemit_txtdvidr.png

What's a poem-off, you ask? A challenge between @uniwhisp and I to see if we can go turn-for-turn and repost some of our long lost poems from the vaults of time. No rules apply, and new stuff might just make the mix!

Regards,
Mitchell J

Sort:  

Wowwww! What a poem, wowww. I love your writing style and the closing was awesome. Wowww;-

Fool I am for thinking this had a chance
It wasn’t that your heart was surrounded
But occupied by another man’s dance.

Amazing content! Keep steeming dearie! Cheers.

Thanks! Yes, there will be more to come as the poem-off continues on :-)

What a brilliantly eloquent description of this phenomenon!

"He ignored you
And that’s what you needed
Spellbound by trying to prove yourself"

A difficult topic, treated expertly. Following you and this poem off :)

Thanks, glad you enjoyed!

I like the images here: spells, fiddles, dance.... some of my favorite things! :D Off to the archives...

blows dust off the pages

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87