Lifeline (Original poetry)

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)


This was from Day 103 of @tankadiary photo prompt. I thought it was cool so I figured I would write about it, even if it is quite a bit late.

Photo source

Lifeline

The world blurs into oblivion
As I slump unsteadily
on death's precipice
treachery awaiting my next step
I let it all melt away
All except for you

My eyes set upon you
like arrows
Loosed in a fury
Through the hellish gauntlet.
Nothing remains
but your promise of safety

I grab hold
Strangling doubt from the atmosphere
Choking away the sadness
As I allow your steel strands
To heal my soul,
The world
Comes slowly into focus
And it is truly beautiful

÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷

Thanks for reading.

÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷÷

"You get from art what you bring to it." That is a saying from one of my old teachers. I think
that's a little bit of what's going on here. A simple image such as this sparked thoughts of a time about which I seldom speak.

I am usually a generally happy guy. I am blessed with an ability to let most things roll off of my shoulders without much worry. However, I am not immune to depression, and I have experienced it from time to time in my life. At its worst, I was thinking of suicide daily. I would not say that I ever got to the point of actually considering it, but it consumed a significant portion of my daily thoughts. That's where I went with this piece.

During that time, I focused on the good things in life like my family and my wife in particular. That focused kept me grounded when I was otherwise on dangerous terrain. They were my lifeline that eventually pulled me through that time. I am grateful to have them in my life as they make it all truly beautiful. Thanks for all the support.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enginewitty.

Thank you. I am honored.

A reallys strong and meaningful write, Moe. Goes wonderful with the prompt.

Thanks, Pryde. I appreciate the insight.

Gonna read this today and look forward to the expansion on it :)

Thanks for the support. I finally got a chance to expand on it a bit more.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 21210 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Congratulations @moeknows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @moeknows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.405 which ranks you at #2219 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 91 places in the last three days (old rank 2310).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28