Sonrisa (Original poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

image.png

Sonrisa

She has a smile made of sun
shining an inextinguishable light
filling my chloroplastic happiness
With photosynthetic sustenance.

I unfold in her presence
branching out toward heaven
Catching the light within my extremities
and storing it in my core

=============================
I found this one quite difficult to write, not because I couldn't find the words, but because I couldn't find the time. I'm glad I got through it though. In case you're wondering, I based the word design on the flag of New Mexico which has a very simple depiction of a sun. The title of the poem is also a play on words. It is the Spanish word for "smile", but I also like how it reminds me of a sunrise, which is the major metaphor for the poem. Tell me what you think.

Please check out some of my other work:
Constrictor (Original poem)
Code (Original Senryu/Haiku and image)
Brothers (original Poem)
Words Unspoken (Original Spoken Word poem)

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png
=============================
BCPLogoMoeknows4 - small.PNG
Join the new Discord channel dedicated specifically to poetry
Block Chain Poets
Where poets support other poets.

Sort:  

I love the way you made the zia symbol in your meme.

Thank you. I have always loved the symbol myself.

I like the metaphor. It doesnt particularly say Mexico to me but it is nice imagery. Have a wonderful day! You get a resteem and a comment, whoop! I also haven't had a lot of time....xoxoxo Trying to ramp up for the fall.

Thanks, Robyn. It was based on the flag of New Mexico which was a totally different settlement from Mexico. The symbol comes from a group of native people from there, the Zia Pueblo tribe. This is the State Flag:

Thanks for the resteem, comment and the upvote! It's hard out here for a poet sometimes.

Poem has spritual power for refreshment of mind.

Congratulations @moeknows! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This poem is written in a very good way to know it deeply.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. Following.

Wonderful poem, I really enjoyed listening to it being read out as well by @enginewitty on #WordswithWitty

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Nice! It gets stored in the solar plexus ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10