The Wild Ones (original poetry and a history lesson)

in #poetry6 years ago

512px-Osceola.jpg

Image Source

We
The wild ones
Outcasts
Displaced by circumstance
Banished by our brethren.
To the southern swamps, we went
And flourished in their absence
Our way

We
The confluence of culture
The Red...and colorless
The banished and free
The drinkers of the black
And the one who shouted it

We
The never-tamed
Too wild for
The conquerors of our cousins
Defiant until the end
Until the drops of our existence
Are no longer measured
In the blood of their offspring

We
Shall forever
Be

=============================
Sometimes, I get off on a tangent of some Wikipedia page and end up in all sorts of pages. I'm not sure how I got there, but somehow, I ended up learning about the Seminole Indians of Florida. Being from Florida, I had been familiar with a lot of the terms, but basically none of the history. So I decided to write a poem that incorporated some of the things I knew. I'll put them here in list form:
  • The Seminoles were actually made up of displaced members from other tribes, mainly the Creek.
  • The name Seminole means "Wild" or "Wild ones"
  • Many of their members were mixed race and included heredity of Native Americans, English, Scottish, Irish and African Americans.
  • They drank a drink called black drink that made them puke
  • Chief Osceola's name means "Black drink shouter"
  • They never signed a Peace Treaty with the US Government

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png
=============================
BCPLogoMoeknows4 - small.PNG
Join the new Discord channel dedicated specifically to poetry
Block Chain Poets
Where poets support other poets.

Sort:  

Interesting posts about culture, I like it

Thank you for stopping by!

yes, have a nice day

It's amazing how reading that articule made you write this beautiful poem... I'm impressed. Bravo!

Why, thank you. I was actually a little surprised to be inspired. Thank you for stopping by.

Deep. Thank you for this heart piece. Xo

And thank you for your steadfast support. I appreciate it.

Some history can be read between these lines here, and tinges of sadness, or wishful speculation about a future existence (or a demise). Indeed, the ideas like defiance, freedom and life, are not things that will ever see demise. I like your poetry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37