Victim of war

in #poetry6 years ago

images (98).jpg
Say I am mad, for war has stolen my sanity
Say I am a prisoner, for war has put into captivity my fast fading humanity
Say what you will but will you please hear what I have to say
Listen to my voice or pay attention to my letters
Who am I? I am constantly asking
I am nothing but a shell, a shadow of my reflection
I am a wandering soul who has lost my direction

Am I male? Am I female? Am I the grey area lying in between?
I am the twelve year old boy with a gun in my hand
I am the twelve year old boy whose innocence was traded
I am the boy who murdered my sick dad to shed luminescence and traces of conscience
I am the little girl kidnapped and continuously defiled,
My captors never cared that I was but a child.

What do I feel? I am often asked
What is feeling I would then retort?
All my joy has been looted, sadness is my only resort
Sanity is an irregular circle, in this triangle of war, hate and madness

What is this strange being I speak of?
It is the epitome of true dystopia, the opposite of utopia

Sort:  

Well written. War is destruction of physical, spiritual and psychological world. Thank you for sharing this.

Thank you for your contribution

Wow! Deep words.

Thank you

We are victims of these wars, either directly or indirectly. Nice post @one-person

Thank you

This is the kind of poem that gets you thinking about the society and it's challenges...well written expressions @one-person

Thank you

you're welcome son

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87