LIGHTS OUT BABY ROBIN

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

One cold morning in late March, while sitting outside drinking coffee, I watched the most spectacular thing! Birds teaching their young to fly. It reminded me of parents teaching their kids to ride a bike for the first time without training wheels. I wish I could have recorded it. Maybe next year I will. Anyway, this is a little poem about that morning. Enjoy.



IMAGE AND POEM COPYRIGHT 2018 @phedizzle



Intense sun

Intense cold

But Spring is here

Or so I'm told


I'm not feeling it

Sub temperatures today

In gloves and hat

Wearing my favorite hoodie


Even still

I savor it

When the seasons

Trans-ish


When the edges of weather

Collide and shift

The circle of life

Cycling with it


I like to reflect

During these special times

As a bystander and witness

Nature's full of surprise


In the peace of the morning

As the sun breaks through the clouds

The songbirds sing

Loudly and proud


They know it's Spring

Because in nests

In trees

There are chirping little birdies


I watch in amazement

Full of wonder and awe

As mammas and pappas

To their babies call


Spread those tiny wings

Fly to me, fly to me

Come here, come here

Sweet birdie baby


And they fly-They sure do

Some babies are faster learners

Some are a little more

Wobbly than others


One young robin in particular

So excited to flee

Chasing siblings like a game of tag

So excited it didn't see


The pole barn

It flew head on into the door

Knocking itself out cold

It was lights out for an hour or more


It hit hard and loud

I saw it happen but didn't believe

It lay motionless except

For it's little eyes looking at me


It was a little funny

Then a little sad

I was worried this baby Robin's

First flight was it's last


I didn't want to touch it

Maybe it would wake up and be fine

Waited an hour

Hoping I would find


Maybe with a mild concussion

But was hoping to find it recovered

Not stiff and lifeless

Was hoping it'd woken from slumber


It did and was gone

I was surprised and relieved

What a way to start off

This early morning of Spring


Just an hour earlier

Spring seemed a lie

Until I saw Robin parents

Teach their young to fly


Just an hour earlier

Spring seemed a lie

Until I saw Robin parents

Teach their young to fly





source: public domain

horizontal page break source: public domain

Hope you enjoyed this simple little poem I wrote about an eventful morning earlier this year. If you found this post enjoyable, please consider upvoting, resteeming, following, and commenting! Thank you kindly for reading...



Here are previous posts of mine:


STORIES:

BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: EXPOSING MY ROOTS (introduction post)
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: Chapter 1
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: FAMILY OWNED: Chapter 1 Section 2
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: ABANDONED BASEMENT: Chapter 1 Section 2
BAREFOOT IN THE BOONIES: REWIND: GROWING UP WITH TURNTABLES

2011 GARDEN:

2011: DESIGN AND BUILD
2011 BACKYARD TRELLIS, PERIMETER, & VOLUNTEER
2011 TIRE PORTION OF THE GARDEN
2011 BRASSICAS-TIRE GARDEN
2011 DWARF ORCHARD

RECIPES:

SANTA DELIVERED SHROOMS-SHITAKE OYSTER SCRAMBLE
SWEET CINNAMON POPCORN
MOCK ALMOND JOY--CHEAPER AND HEALTHIER
HANGRY TERIYAKI
RASHES--WHY I SWITCHED TO THIS COMMON DIY LAUNDRY SOAP AND HOW I MAKE IT
SCRAMBLED EGGS WITH FORAGED FINDS: FIRST FOOD FORAGE OF 2018

POEMS:

WATCHING THE SPRING WAKE UP
SHE IS DYING
WEEPING WILLOW

PLANTS AND ANIMALS-EDUCATIONAL:

GRASS IS OUR FRIEND
LITTLE BLUESTEM--BENEFICIAL AND BEAUTIFUL
BEHOLD THE BEAUTY OF THE FALSE INDIGO BUSH

WALK ALONG WITH ME:

WALK ALONG WITH ME 1
WALK ALONG WITH ME 2--WINTER 2017/2018

2018:

WILD TURKEY TAIL AND REISHI MUSHROOMS
HUGELKULTUR BED STARTED BUT THERE IS A LOGISTICAL OBSTACLE.
2018 CURRENT HAPPENINGS: FOOD FOREST EXPANSION
WILD EDIBLES AROUND THE HOMESTEAD
GRANNY SMITH APPLE FINALLY GOT SOME LOVE
PICKED MY FIRST PINT OF WILD NATIVE BLACK RASPBERRIES
TRANSPLANTING WILD PURPLE GARLIC PART 1
ORCHARD: PLANNING, PREPPING, AND PLANTING

CONTESTS/REVIEWS

Chronic and Coffee MSP Review--25 SBD contest for the best MSPWAVES Radio Reviews
VOICES FROM THE MOUNTAINS Review--25 SBD contest for the best MSPWAVES Radio Reviews



Phedizzle signature created by @bembelmaniac


(Created by @soulturtle)



So come say hello in the following Discord chat rooms:

#homesteadersonline: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

@qurator: https://discord.gg/pJtWp57M

#minnowsupport & #PAL: https://discord.gg/B4ZjGBa

Sort:  

Rad poem and good to see you have a nice back catalogue there .
I like d the word trans -ish

Thanks @stickchumpion. It was an easy simple poem but I wish I could have recorded that morning. There was so much activity. I spend a lot of time observing all of the wildlife and insects here. It's a wild busy ecosystem here. But this particular morning it was the coolest thing to see all the different birds flying from tree to tree, calling out to the newly hatched chicks. I was lucky to have been able to see it.

I like chopping words up to make them fit in poetry. haha.

I love poetry but before poetry u r my idle

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by phedizzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Aww yay for the sweet robin fledgling

Looks like a baby in there. Or a bird feeder in every back yard!
Lol
Joy

Yep. It was a baby robin who had just learned to fly. There were dozens of baby birds. It was a spectacle.

great words, really cool format...love this post!

Thanks @Vladivostok! I appreciate the feedback. I'm a slow steemian so I'm sorry for the late reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17