On the Corner of Clemency and Culpability

in #poetry6 years ago

I wasn’t looking for freedom
when I slammed the heavy iron gate
leaving the house on Sycamore Street
nothing but flames, ash, and smoke

I wasn't looking for freedom
but there it was
beckoning with both hands where Coal Avenue met Sycamore
extending both arms
to embrace the Arsonist of Memory

My hands,
my hands, usually grasping guilt
only longed to feel heat;
they weren’t prepared for the third degree burns of blame

Followed by a blessed numbness,
the fortuitous fiction
we call forgiveness

20160718_204141.jpg

Sort:  

so beautiful poem and nice shot.
have lovely time.

This poem is very beautiful.
I enjoyed it. It is possible to think.

Beautiful lines

i like <3 good job

Very nice poem. Fantastic blend of words. I like it. Thanks for sharing

is very beautiful poem good work :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29