Untitled Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

Vanished-
one boot with ribbon in the eyelets,
a black macabre streamer waltzing in the wind
What ghost walks these ash stained carpets
if it is not the gilded specter
of our secrets
singing hollowly to empty walls

Wraith not, want not
We knew the conjunction was conditional,
ephemeral
The connection to Connecticut,
the machete of Massachusetts,
and I
The Virgin of Virginia

At noon, a new one,
living
with his own haunted hallways
Pour me a drink and plunder away,
marauder of my mouth and marrow

When you leave with the acrid abruptness of sudden death
or the lasting languor of waking from a dream
there will be no surprise
No, not this time
I have learned to expect the second hand smoke
of the phantom
sulphur and sweet
sing me to sleep

van_Gogh.jpg
The Church at Auvers, Van Gogh.

Sort:  

"Wraith not, want not" - resonating clash of sounds! Nicely chosen painting for the poem, as well. Upvoting!

Yes is okey, good word

Posted using Partiko Android

@pinkspectre I think it is an extraordinary painting, much of it understands, there is a fear in place at a secluded place

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Never underestimate the animistic value of a good post. Greetings and my great regards.

I like the atmosphere of love in this piece. I felt there really should've been a proper title for this piece: as of now, I feel this piece is more about love for a singular women rather than womankind of all ages. in fact, I don't see anything unique to International Woman's Day within this piece, neither anything explicitly international nor gynecological.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79