Firefly (Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

joshua-sortino-441939-unsplash.jpg

Firefly

Lost myself within a cave.
Broken flashlight, absent of light –
unable to find an escape route.

Without sight, I became blind,
surviving (I was not living)
through the sense of touch:
feeling the walls, the bag,
the probably mouldy food.

Accustomed to this type of existence,
my fate had been sealed, I accepted,
no bargains and no complaints;

that is when she flew in,
a firefly that had lost its way.
Seduced by her illumination,
I lured, trapped her in a jar:
my own bioluminescent lantern.

Tried looking for a way out;
endless days, constantly walking,
blistered feet, no exits.
Even with a newfound sight,
I could not be saved.

Fireflies have short lifespans,
didn’t know that before.
Mourning the loss of her life,
blinded in this bleak reality,
the old pattern of existing resurfaced.

Succumbed to a doomed destiny,
a lifetime of darkness,
isolated in unknown depths of a cave.
She was the light of my life,
the last flicker of hope.

Nothing can save me now.


Personal Update

Yesterday I have finished posted my collection on steemit. Pairing it up with the end of my exams next Friday, I will have more time to dedicate to editing and writing poetry, and should be posting more recent poetry (not related to any collection). Although I remain fairly busy (with thesis, and soon enough, employment), I am looking forward to dedicate more time to steemit, as well as my poetry overall. I hope that some of poems get published in journals and magazines. During this time, I keep an open mind, to learn more and collaborate with other artists (as much as my anxiety and social awkwardness allows me). That's enough rambling for one day.


Poetry by Jeremy Mifsud
Photo by Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

Sort:  

This was great Jeremy and I definitely can relate... I've had those moments after a loss where you feel completely lost and its a cycle that repeats itself... you learn to live through them till you catch your next firefly. I'm glad to hear you will be dedicating more time to Steemit... I look forward to watching you grow and thrive here. 🖤

We don't own our fireflies, and fireflies die quick. If only we could find a way out. I can live with a couple of eclipses and cloudy days; somewhat dark but not as hopeless. I look forward to reading your story! Doesn't seem too long to catch up with :3

Beautifully written 😊

Congratulations @poetrybyjeremy! You have received a personal award!

Steemcleaners Verified Profile
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09