Ghost (Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

stefano-pollio-365695-unsplash.jpg

Ghost

Ghost (noun):
a being who has passed away
manifesting themselves to the living
for reasons they will never know.

Ghost (verb):
to write as an anonymous author,
letting others take credit for your words,
including subtle critiques of politics
without putting yourself in danger.

Ghost (verb):
to suddenly disappear from a relationship
without an explanation or reason,
then avoiding human confrontation,
pretending to have mysteriously died.

Ghost (noun, you):
Flashbacks of the two of us,
an image haunting me every day;
your voice echoing in my head,
making me hate myself
for all the mistakes I ever made
(the biggest one was trusting you).

Ghost (verb, you):
to have the pain linger around,
waking me abruptly from a nightmare,
cutting over the unhealed wounds,
dictating how strangely I act around people
because I am afraid of getting hurt again.

Ghost (verb, you):
to disappear or vanish the way you did,
running away with stolen money,
blocking any channel of communication,
erasing the love we had once shared.

Ghost (wishful noun):
I try to think of us, to think of you,
instead, I picture a fragmented soul,
a manifestation of your worst.
It is that ghost who torments me,
riles me up with anger and hatred,
makes me wish you are just a ghost
who is now harmless and dead.


Poetry by Jeremy Mifsud
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

Sort:  

I loved the format. The objectivity of the first stanzas made for great contrast as the more emotional lines started coming in. Nice write.

Thank you! I liked the structure and found it quite challenging it to construct in such way; especially for the more emotional sentences to fit in neatly. Again, thank you for the comment :)

No problem. One of my favorite poems of all times was a definition poem (that's what i call these) titled "The Black Widow". I wish i could find the author. Anyway, i have tried my hand at this a couple of times, but you did a great job with it here.

Oh, I'm glad you think so. Yeah, the definition or number lists tend to be more common in the spoken word poetry I suppose. I think this is my first time doing it, and it has some unique strength to it.

Here is one I did a while ago. It is about premature ventricular contractions.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@moeknows/pvc-original-poem

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

I like how it started objective then it has subjective "definitions" and somehow the more emotional it gets the longer the stanzas. It's like we have much to say about how we feel about them than how things really are.

Yeah, I suppose it's similar to trying to contain oneself but ends up having an emotional outburst. Thank you for the comment :3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #168 (6/17/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

this is really good stuff! love your writing style and of course anything to do with ghosts attracts my attention. :)
howd you get a small curie vote? i think i got one o ce but not sure how?

Thank you. Small curie votes are associated with subcommunities, and I believe mine would have to be related to the curation collection a.k.a. c-squared. They left a comment with a discord link if you want to find out more about it (I've also become a curator there, so starting tomorrow I'll start looking for some more posts to curate :3)

sweet music to my ears :) thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87