Friday Poet's Exchange, Week 5, Contest and Community Building

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Friday Poets' Poetry Exchange

Der_arme_Poet_(Ausschnitt_1) (1).jpg
attribution

Welcome to the fifth week of Friday Poet's and the start of another poetry weekend on steemit. Let's grow our community. Re-esteem and upvote this post and visit the other poems and upvote the comments here. I don't pick winners; I would just pick you all. I look at who has received the most upvotes but also who gave them out and took the time to comment too.

Tomorrow is Haiku Saturday and come Sunday, we'll have the Dead Poem's Society rewind. Keep you eyes peeled and enter:)

Constantin_Jiquidi_-_Un_poet_simbolist (1).jpg
attribution

The rules of participation

  • Up vote this post and re-esteem it. I will be checking. By reesteeming we grow the audience and support each other. You know make Friday Poets a thing. To be eligible for price payout, this has to happen.
  • Visit at least three other Friday poets and comment and up vote their COMMENT here. You can also upvote their post if you got the upvote power but it is not necessary.
  • Drop your link below to a poem you wrote today … that’s Friday wherever you are. I know some of you are taking part in the 100 days of poetry with @d-pend and the steemitschool. These poems are more than welcome, as are any other poem challenge/contest entry. The only stipulation is that you wrote it today … FRIDAY. So go ahead and double up.
    Make one of your tags #fridaypoets and place @prydefoltz in the title
  • I will upvote and comment, to the best of my ability, on everyone who takes part having followed the rules and reesteem the one’s that tickle my fancy. I should be able to get to everyone within the week. So that will be two upvotes one for your comment and one for your post. I will do my best to make sure the upvoteis over the burn-off level.
    (A comment/blog that is upvoted but the total value of upvotes is less than 3 cents, receives no payout. The amount is burned off.)
  • The liquid payout from this post (SBD) will go to the winners(those who receive the most upvotes in the comment section) and/or depending on payout received to those that participated the most.
  • I will take part in the contest by writing a poem but I will NOT share in the SBD payout.
  • Have fun and maybe crack a smile.
    Algernon_Charles_Swinburne,_a_true_poet.jpg
    attribution

Upvote and Re-esteem, tell your friends. The more people that get involved, the more I can reward the participants and the winners. I really want to see the poetry community, enmasse, enriched on steemit, but we really do need to support each other.

Last week's Payouts

The post received a SBD of 0.948. The following people received these amounts.

@zeleiracordero 0.23
@sayee 0.23
@satorid 0.16
@realnairda 0.16
@marlyncabrera 0.16

I want to take this opportunity to remind you to upvote the comments of others here on the blog. I do look at see that everyone has upvoted at least one other entry. This is a community enriching activity first and a contest second. So please support the other poets who have entered.

That said; it's Friday and people are generally happy about that. So let your pen shine:)

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for the gift. It is midnight now, so will leave my poem link here. I will visit the poems tomorrow.

Warning - do not read if you are not up to it

Beautiful poem that speaks of encounter with the divinity.
Good job, poet!

There's a mystical power in the scene your poem describes, @sayee. Powerful images. The lady reminds me of the one in the Arthurian tales; she gave him a new sword, a symbol of a fresh start, just like in your poem, your lady renews every life.

Thanks for sharing, and good luck in the challenge! :-)

Hello everyone! How fast Friday arrived! Here I bring my poem today, hoping that you like it.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@zeleiracordero/like-orion-s-dust-como-polvo-de-orion-100-dias-de-poesia-dia-93

Maybe waiting more for me,
but I'm like wild oyster:
Slow, observing, mediating,
keeping what is valuable inside.

it is not short of a miracle, how we friday poets seem to be sing the same songs of eternity, all with our each different tune to add to the moasic of expression, the whole array of felt expriences dancing with infinity, all too the heartbeat of the universe.

I've already noticed that, but I love the synchronization we have, it's wonderful! Thanks, @satorid!

Wow ... that was amazing, Zeleira:)

The imagery really awed me, thank you

Thanks to you, dear @sayee!

There is always so much light in your poetry, @zeleiracordero

And light is what helps us go through situations we don't understand at first and seem to be negative. But every event in our lives is a teaching.
In the end, when people are truthful to themselves and guided by love, they will always be

free to whisper
nice to exist,
transparent to live,
light to flow.

Thanks or sharing. Beautiful ♥

Interesting symbology I like the use of black to represent the nothing, that after him, there is only him and Also the contrast between darkness and brightness.

nothing worth rushing for
a fade to black

Excellent work, Pryde!

I really like the way you defined life

Thank you, Sayee:)

In reading your “Turtle, Shine Instead” poem with scientific eyes, its speaker doth asketh the “little turtle” of today’s day and age to devolve, for its ancestors were the giant-sized Ankylosaurus dinosaurs, whom along with other species of dragon did once upon a time rule the Earth.

Methinks that retracing one’s steps can be part and parcel of moving forward, in order to correct any mistakes which were made along the way.

That is an interesting interpretation but not one intended. I would make no suggestion to any turtle or any other being to de-evolve for I cannot see that as possible. No time comes again. I would just ask the turtle to continue forward and at the pace that suits him and from a metaphysical point of view to not look for the light but bring it. When this is not possible to turn to rest and not the final solution. I wrote this in response to the passing of Anthony Bourdain. It is an answering call to the mental suffering any of us might fall too. I am offering a shift in perspective for those who would take it:)

Hey Pryde,

Can you tell me if your fridaypoets contest welcomes literary criticism as replies as well as comments, or if it only welcomes comments?

How very sad that Anthony Bourdain passed away.

From Lannie.

I think you need to be careful with that kind of thing, Lannie. If someone asks for it ... that is another story. But critique is not what the forum is set up for. I want to encourage people to write poetry and not be turned off because someone says their work is not up to snuff, derivative, or other such nonsense. Poetry is very subjective and I have noted more than a few times with critique, it is the critic's preferences that are revealed more than anything and sometimes her ego.

Certainly offer your thoughts on a poem, how it made you feel, what it made you think, but be aware that we don't ever want to turn someone off poetry because they do not think they write well enough. There are plenty of writing sites and classes for someone who wants to be influenced by the critique of others.

I'd wait until asked. We do want to avoid hurt feelings and we want to encourage empowerment.

If you are into literary criticism, you might want to check out the steemitschool on discord. I think they pursue that kind of thing. The link is at the bottom of all my 100 days of poetry blogs.

Cheers:)

Hello Pryde,

I guess that I must seem somewhat strange, and different to you, because I do not only perceive Time as linear; I perceive it as cyclical, too. Nor doth I perceiveth Time only as direct; I perceiveth it as stationary, and as retrograde, too. Not all at the same time, of course!

There is also the phenomenon of déjà vu, which is when a prophetic dream during sleep hath becometh the present in waking life. Which is the greater reality?

How sophisticated is the subject of Time!

From Lannie.

The perception of time is relative but also it can be 'measured' in a linear fashion and as such is the fourth dimension of creation and then becomes only as relative or circular as any material thing. It does not surprise me in the least that your perception and conception of time are different from mine and many others. Truth though ... I haven't spend a moments thought pondering if you were strange or different. But given the relative nature of perception, we should be careful with our critiques of others for they are always relative, but kindness and the willingness to shift perception is golden.

I withdraw mine entry from your contest.

I loved it, @prydefoltz ♥, and this is what it makes me think:
Indeed once we've found our own shine, this light can guide us through darkness. Hopefully, we'll realize it when our time comes.

Hi, @prydefoltz :-) Thanks for the invite (and my share from last week).

Hello to you all. Here's my entry for this week:

Natural Gen #9: "Sea"

For this peace
flying
on a stream
of salty breeze
gets to every one
and each
who take the time
to dream.

yes indeed, I also like that its part of a series, very cool natural minimalist poetry.

Thank you, @satorid :-) Makes me glad.

Beautiful poem that tells us the relationship between the sun, the sea and people. The greatness of nature in communion with man, which induces states of peace and relaxation.
Good job, friend @marlyncabrera.

Thank you, dear @zeleiracordero. As always, I enjoy your interpretations :3

Glorious write:)

Thank you, @prydefoltz. I'll be back for tomorrow for reading and comments :-)

beautiful indeed, a very healing poem

Thank you, Sayee:)

I'm so glad you say that, @sayee :-) Thanks!

Have you ever walked on a moonlit beach during a snowless winter eve, and when all of its sand hath frozen over? Walking on it is feels and looks like walking on the Moon.

@marlyncabrera, reading your “Sea” poem was an idyllic reminder to me of that night when I walked on the Moon.

Thank you.

I've read this comment several times, and every time I love it more. Thank you, @lanniebrockstein :-)

Ah, and I've never walked on the moon, but now I'm sure I will.

You're welcome. I hope for you to do so, too. Walking on a beach that is also th’icy and snowy Moon, whilst espying the stars that whisper along th'empurpled shadows of its silvery sea, can be mysterious. It makes coming indoors from the polar air all the more enchanting.

Wow another Friday Poet's Exchange, well now everything is alright forever and ever.

This week I got: Please Humor Me For A Moment

Down and out,
sitting at the edge of the abyss,
life in the trenches of hyperspace

I could feel great energy coming out of this piece, @satorid.
One of my favorite parts:

you see,
it's not the dream that is real
it's the dreaming

It is indeed, the truth. And in this sense, my dear fellow poet, our dreams are somehow real, too.

Pure fire. Thanks.

Too good! I love your poetry! I feel that the most important thing, what I rescue from all those truths, dreams, lucubrations, tantrums, disappointments, scolding and stop counting, presented in your great poem, are these beautiful lines ... At the end of the endings, it is what it fills our emptiness, which resolves our day to day:

I just need to hear
that your there
that you will hold my hand
as we sit at the abyss
that you will watch me
as I dance my moon dance

yup at the end of the day, just the felt experience of another being is enough, and is what IT's all about. Even in those dark moments, just sitting there, feeling the emptiness between, is sometimes all one can do or has to do... =D

Love this one:)

beautiful words which left me a lot better

I love that way you teach so much, as a good teacher you are. I applaud you, @mineopoly!

Thank you for learning @zeleiracordero. As the years go on we all become a little dull. Congratulations on finishing the 100 day poetry competition.

Loved everything about this one. So glad you decided to join in Mineopoly. Tomorrow is #haikusaturday and sunday is #deadpoems. You might want to get in on those too:)

Wow. This is wild.
The Haiku bot just caught me an hour ago.

really feel sympathy for this little fish, @mineopoly. Thank you for this thoughtful piece! It is good to be reminded of the relevance of all stories :-)

Thanks for reading the story of "Little Fish" @marlyncabrera

I usually feel like him in a great sea but every once and a while I see that you are just like me.

Indeed, I little (very little) fish I am, @mineopoly :3

Great work here:) And welcome to our group. Be sure to check out some other work on the page and cast your vote if you have already:)

Thank you. Today [June 11th, 2018] I edited its fifth line.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99