"Minnow's Song" (Poem) >>> Papa-Pepper's Wild & Strange Contest - Round 4 - Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago

 

@pappa-pepper is running a multi-part contest and this is the Contest's Part 4 - Poetry. And hence, my entry:

The Contest's Part 1 - Photo, was won by @ecoinstant. Why on Earth Pappa-Pepper chose him is beyond me ... I think he looks like Rasputin. Below is a different picture of @ecoinstant (the poem I wrote for his contest, 'Pander To Me') and below that, one of Rasputin. 



You tell me ... that's not the same guy? 

Anyway, best of luck to all the other contestants.

Quill


 


Sort:  

I thought you had gone for good, although dramatic pauses are always good to gather an audience.

I enjoyed the poem, very clever and a little comedy always good to lighten the mood.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

@c0ff33a,

although dramatic pauses are always good to gather an audience.

I'm a poet in advertising ... what did you expect? Let's see if it works. :-)

Everybody, @c0ff33a, is running for Witness. He could use your vote. There are not many people on Steemit that do more to build the community than this guy. I once wrote a comment speculating that there must be two of him becausehe's everywhere all the time ... I'm still not certain that there's not.

Go VOTE for the guy! We need some more folks with his kind of commitment.

Love the rhythm of your words, best of luck in the contest!

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

That's not bad versifying. A couple of chuckles too.

@blockurator,

"Hope Ye of Nations" was all chuckles to write. We need to inject poetry with a bit of humor from time to time. The world of poetry has become pretty bleak for the most part ... poets, seemingly, have lost their ability to see anything good in the world.

What I didn't count on was that his Mom would read it ... and there was a salty line in the poem. She let me off the hook. There's lots of nice folks on Steemit.

Quill

Yes, agreed. Poets can often take themselves too seriously. And everyone wants to fight the establishment with lines of verse (I must admit, I've done my fair share). While Shelley made a good point when stating that poets were the undeclared legislators of the world, and Edward Bulwer-Lytton quite insightful in quipping "The pen is mightier than the sword," it is unfortunate that both swords and pens grow duller with more use. And, as it turns out, poets aren't any better at legislating than lawyers, which is all the more good that we should remain undeclared.

Laughter is indeed good medicine. I'm glad your friend's Mom let you off the hook. Mom's can be vicious.

@blockurator,

You are an excellent writer. I'm glad to have met you. Let's make a deal right now: So long as it is well articulated, we may both make any argument in each other's posts without sanction. The best of my mind and the best of yours. Steel sharpens steel.

Quill

Absolutely!

I'm all for well-articulated arguments. If it's well stated and backed up with a fair degree of logic, and facts, I can't blame someone for disagreeing with me. I love the back and forth. More back than forth, of course. ;-)

Hi, I know this has passed its voting period - I hope the entry below will result in upvotes on your other posts. Is a good read, anyway!

You have received recognition from the new MAP Trail initiative to support curated content.
You can see your entry here and the curator who promoted your post.
All of this is free and part of MAP's mission to support quality content creators by supporting curators.
You may help support the MAP Trail by either upvoting, resteeming or delegating to @accelerator...
... or just upvoting this comment :-)

Haha this is so great. You successfully wrote down the pain of a minnow with a great sense of comedy in it.
They say steemit is a distributed system but the irony is we must spend time to get discovered by the so called super powers, the reality that there is.

@cave-man,

I'm in the process of writing a series of articles about Steemit that address this issue and others. Stay tuned.

I missed reading your beautiful poems and witty lines, @quillfire! Hope you'll delight us more!

@lymepoet,

Right back at you. You're one of my favorite people on Steemit.

Quill

Congratulations @quillfire! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13