The Ancient Chapel of Toxteth - History & Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Looks revolutionary and delightful dude

That's sexy and gorgeous.

A wonderful piece. You say you are not an historian--but everything we do is affected by history. The rich history of this place informs these poems, but whatever we write has culture in it--culture is accumulated history.
I got my undergraduate degree in history, so I really appreciate the journey you take us through. History connects us all--as I read I remembered that some of my ancestors left England in the 1600s because they were dissenters. Their history became, in a way, a part of this piece.
Good going @raj808

but everything we do is affected by history. The rich history of this place informs these poems, but whatever we write has culture in it--culture is accumulated history.

Very true @agmoore... if I'm honest about it, what I should have said is that I don't usually enjoy writing history posts like this but I did enjoy this one. Maybe my tastes are developing to enjoy the research side of things a little more :-)

I'm glad you enjoyed this and it is gratifying that a History graduate liked it, as it convinces me that I didn't gloss over things too much ;-) I was convinced at one point that I hadn't gone into enough detail but then I thought, local history is quite niche so I'll keep it a little more general.

I love learning about historical buildings.. if the walls good talk they would tell us so many stories.. especially those buildings surviving wars and other disaster.

Thank you for the information! You know so much about this chapel!

if the walls good talk they would tell us so many stories.. especially those buildings surviving wars and other disaster.

I agree @delishtreats. This church is right near to the road where my family home was that I grew up in as a child. But I had never been in there as it is closed to the public. I was lucky to be invited in recently as a friend knew the custodian and so I jumped at the chance.

I'm glad you enjoyed the visit to The Ancient Chapel of Toxteth :-)

Oh, I meant 'could' talk! Sorry, lol!

I would do so as well! Must feel good to finally see the interior! Exciting!

Yes, it was a very pleasant visit! 😉

A wonderful slice of history! It is great to know that you composed those lovely poems while on the grounds of the place, making them doubly special! Thanks for sharing this provenance of our world with #steemitbloggers 💙

You are most welcome @thekittygirl. That is one of my specialties for steemit articles, to write about a place like this and then include poems I wrote while visiting. I'm glad you enjoyed the poems and the visit to The Ancient Chapel of Toxteth :-)

I agree with you in touching and feeling the places that you write and share about. It give you a connection to the place by being actually there and seeing everything with your own two eyes. In the process you also get to learn a lot as you are compelled to do some research.

touching and feeling the places that you write and share about. It give you a connection to the place by being actually there and seeing everything with your own two eyes.

couldn't agree more @watersnake101. The church is right near to the road where my family home was that I grew up in as a child, but I had never been in there as it is closed to the public. I was lucky to be invited in recently as a friend knew the custodian and so I jumped at the chance. The majority of that research was actually covered in the talk that the custodian gave but it has been a few months since I went on that visit so I had to refresh my memory with google lol

I'm glad you enjoyed the visit to The Ancient Chapel of Toxteth :-)

Google also works for me when I miss out on some information. Lucky you had connections lol to get in exclusively. You should have filmed it I bet you'd do great.

Congratulations @raj808! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love old architecture like this @raj808 and have always felt a soft joy come over me when I come upon a church set in it's own graveyard. There is such a moment of tradition and tranquility like eons of peoples beliefs and praise have set a soft psychic blanket around it :)

have always felt a soft joy come over me when I come upon a church set in it's own graveyard. There is such a moment of tradition and tranquility like eons of peoples beliefs and praise have set a soft psychic blanket around it

Yes... I am not religious but I get completely what you mean. I get that feeling in places of worship, what religious folk would tell me I am feeling the holy spirit... but I personally feel it is an imprint, a psychic blanket as you so elegantly put it :-)

Either way, it is an interesting thing. I always write good poetry in places like that. Thanks for reading and I'm glad you enjoyed the visit to The Ancient Chapel of Toxteth :-)

Wow this is such an interesting place. I love ancient places and history itself. Feels like I am taken back to the old days and it feels so mesmerizing. Thanks for the tour! :)

I love ancient places and history itself. Feels like I am taken back to the old days and it feels so mesmerizing.

I feel the same @cookntell :-) You are most welcome for the tour, I'm glad you enjoyed the visit to The Ancient Chapel of Toxteth :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77