Self Love: A Poem About Boundaries

in #poetry5 years ago

Love is the LAW

You know, that thing we aim for.
Fair and honest, sometimes playful.
It is the calmness in my affect, even when fiery rage flames forth that may make you second guess.

A Reminder...

to not confuse my willfully masked demeanor to mean that I have smoothed out this jagged exterior.

There are perfect imperfections about me.
While I may choose an interior decor of faith and seek the divine day after day,
I am still human.
It is in love and compassion that I choose.
This is true, but my vessel and soul are still in use.

The words are not an excuse.
Apparently, a few are confused...
They say...
"Surround yourself with love" or they quote Ghandi and tell you to be the change...

Even though, we all know that this is all based on circumstance.
I propose that you should at least do it when you can...
With each footstep keep that third eye open.
Do not leave your mood or psyche to happenstance.
Awareness is a responsibility.
The light requires effort, otherwise what are you doing?

Loving Futility

You would to well to remember that love isn't always nice or tender.

Sometimes it requires you to fight and other times to simply surrender.
Anyone that says they can do it all the time is no more than a pretender.

Initially, or... not so occasionally...

I'll try to give advice, and the other person will be like,
"You're mean. You're scary."
I almost always pause, to make sure it isnt on me for being too hard.
These days it us usually not.
These reactions come from those that are too soft.
There are those that scoff.

The same ones that came into my life and were disappointed that they understood love differently.

How can be blamed that you're a snowflake or a fairy?

Sometimes tough love seems like dislike. It can be taken for something else, and nobody said that you had to like...
my interpretation of a fluid emotion.

Harsh realities are hard to swallow sometimes even when spoon fed.

They often go down rough, even when sugar is added.
Ain't nobody got time for coddling, enabling, embracing the same things that leave you unwaveringly ignorant.
Love is not blindly taking anyone's shit.
It is okay to question and to pipe up with challenges.

All that love requires us balances...
between intention and will.
Aiming for the middle, taking where you need but understanding that you need not gorge yourself to have your fill.

My Microcosm Means My Will

When you step into my space, you'll be required to accept that I have a vastly different take on these things because I spend my time actively strengthening my resolve.

I no longer have tolerance for individuals that resist or refuse to evolve.

I don't care where in the spectrum you fall.

First step or a hundred.
In my crib, I demand progress.
I have, in the past, indulged in excuses.
It has ended the same every time though so now I consider the practice as useless.
If you're here then let's do this.

My world requires rigidity as per what my experience has taught me.
If you ask for my help then you're stuck in my realm.

I don't have time to stop, so if you want to wake up, get woke, so to speak... then you've got to be willing to be accepting.
You're more that welcome to tag along.
Just keep in mind that you are also expected to trust me.

When I need help and I go to someone else, I hope that they won't dilute their message just so I can accept it.
I will do the same.

I can show you what I know, I am happy to explain, and sure I can show you my way.

This is my path and you're more than willing to walk right next to me...
so long as you let me be.

You don't need to like it.

I Don't Always Like Me

Sometimes I can be grumpy.
This narrow path can turn harsh and bumpy.

It's hard work and if you're another princess whining because your bed is lumpy then my world is gonna be a bit of a shock to you.

That Being Said...
There is no reason that it has to get ugly.
But that depends on what you do.
You don't even need to try it for yourself. You will have to accept that I am unique. How about this... you do you and I'll do me and we can learn together or you can find a different scene.
I don't have time for whimpering puppies.
I barely could understand the required compassion when my spawn would run into this microcosm crying.
Do not enter into this space with expectations of me to change.
You'll be more than sorely disappointed,
when I reject you whole heartedly.

If You Don't Like It... Leave.

Establishing boundaries are healthy.
That is all that I am doing.

You don't go into somebody elses home, and get mad when they do things in another way than you would in your own home.

You don't blame them for what they don't know.

You act polite, you follow the rules of Rome.
These are my rules for my space.
When in doubt, just think about one thing...
Love.

If you can.
If it is your will to be bigger, become better and perhaps we will both come around and rise above.

Thanks For Reading

Editing Update

You may notice that this post has been done twice. I recently began using the Partiko app. Overall, I like it. However, getting used to the posting is rough at times.

I find that it is sometimes easy to forget to tag, and if you do that there seems to be no way to correct. Also, pressing preview (as I did earlier) will result in posting. I need to see if I can correct the posts on my computer vs. using my phone.

Sorry about any confusion!

Artwork

All images are my own, except the "I Love You" image. I found it on Google under a shareable license. I don't know the original artist. If you can fi d them or know who it us, please let me know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29