Treads

in #poetry6 years ago

Before I took a shoe to the face
there was fire in a bowl, ritual oath
no man will hurt me again

If only women could voice our fiercest wishes
and have them come true

Instead I wore the treads of a rubber sole
across my lips and cheeks,
tears tracking in that bumpy trail

Let us not speak of the next morning
when I woke up safe but shook anyway

There are wishes, memory and reality.
The hills and valleys painted on my face
exist as a map for all three

so I stopped silencing my bruises,
searching for the faces which were not turned away

I made no grand discovery
other than in the mirror
when my reflection made her wish with her eyes.

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29