Ad Break

in #poetry6 years ago

This Moment is in the middle of the ocean
sunning on a rock, hanging in the balance,
flapping her tail and running
her hand through the water.
The liner roars past, spews seaspray.

This Moment shoots at your heart when she can
~ an ad break ~ says, Look! and pulls you
ravelling up through eons of peacock blue,
up through to deep yellow gold like
a million yolks of a million suns.

Oh! you say, but then push past
back down, dumbly, to the TV's dull surface.

Yet your walnut soul cracks an inch,
hopelessly in love with what it disbelieves.

This Moment folds her hands in her ancient lap, flaps
her tail on the rock, runs her hand through the water.

waiting-1086393_640.jpg
Pic: CC0

Sort:  

This Moment folds her hands in her ancient lap, flaps
her tail on the rock, runs her hand through the water.

How lovely. You write poetry too? I think I love you even more!!

Aw thank you. Confession: I haven't written any for some time. I'm putting older stuff up here. But I'm getting the taste as I put these up here.

Might have to hunt down some poetry contests. I LOVE the contests on here.

I wish I had more time to enter them.. was thrilled to win one for my horses story!!!

I didn't realise you'd won it. That's excellent. Like you said, what a day you had that day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87