Lights Out

in #poetry6 years ago


Image Source

lights out

last one out of here
turn the sun off
let this realm rot in darkness
for unleashing its inhabitants
creationism
evolution
alien god abductions
mismatched systems of beliefs
will have us burn and scream
hey everybody
we’re gonna have us a party
you’re invited
get your gun
it’s called
the end of the world
holler and preach baby
tell me how wrong i am
turn me on
with the stories
of the fire that’s waiting
call me insane
when i search for a higher plane
‘cuz there’s nothing after death
unless i’m reborn as
a colony of worker ants
burn me at the stake
‘cuz i can cure you with herbs
mistake my prayers
for incantations
and my worship
as childish games
hey everybody
we’re gonna have us a party
you’re invited
i’m excited
it’s the end of the world
no way out
of this destruction
that we’ve brought
on ourselves
get your gun
let’s play this game
called
the end of the world

This poem originally appeared on Sumayyah Said So.

Recent Posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43