I want you to know

in #poetry6 years ago


I want you to know


So long ago you told me I didn't deserve more, lucky for all I had
None would want and none would come to offer a hand of help
The best advice received, there was no one other than myself
Care for strangers were times gone and stranger I had become
Deepest thoughts knew not, who stayed held beneath the shell

You laughed at the dismay and and the pitch was filled with mad
Screams of maniacal terror, the beast inside released a yelp
Hearing the words shrill in the ear feelings entered with stealth
And all the parts no longer came together to complete the sum
The hypnotic sounds of a familiar voice held me tight under spell

**
The mirror cracked as you spoke and dead eyes stared back
The darkness fell and the fog grew thick along the one track
Another lost mind and body to be piled upon the high stack
Only to roll off and on to the ground with cold lifeless smack
The start to the body jolted the heart, light burst from black

**
To recall your words of those days, to remember you is sad
Listening to your whimpers for mercy and sobbing dry whelps
The lessons you taught are now placed up high on dusty shelf
Undeserving of an audience, an intoxicating beat you drum
But on the words you spoke to me then, I will no longer dwell.


Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


Sort:  

I have a growing appreciation for poetry, even write some myself. Good to see you posting some too. Do you write poetry or is this a when the mood strikes kinda thing?

I started writing poetry occasionally a few months ago. It is growing on me.

I recently started to buy a few books of poetry, Sylvia Plath, and John Ashbery. Never thought I would go from straight-up horror novels to inspiration non-fiction (man's search for meaning-Viktor E. Frankl) and Poetry

For once I think I can accurately pinpoint where the inspiration for this comes from

I was wondering about what motivates you to write poetry?
On my last post you asked me whether it felt good to write a poem. For me it was more about getting something off my chest. It got me thinking about what could be your reasons.

"And all the parts no longer came together to complete the sum
The hypnotic sounds of a familiar voice held me tight under spell"

........ I loved these lines :-)

Perhaps I will wrote a post about it but for me, poetry is a challenge I enjoy.

Would like to hear more about it. A post would be great :-)

I was wondering about what motivates you to write poetry?

Well, in my case I suppose that I don't do poetry very well. We probably do not like each other either. I suspect it has to be a matter related to cadence, meter and rhyme. However, I recall learning one in spanish that I still remember quite well.

"Anoche pasé por tu casa y tu madre me dijo feo, la proxima vez que me lo diga me saco el pipí y la meo"

English translation:

"Last night I went by your house and your mother told me ugly, the next time she tell me that again I'll take my pee-pee and piss her off"

You see? Yep!, in english seems it rhymes even less. };)

I don't know what to make of this one. I have some ideas but maybe I am overthinking again. I enjoyed it though so that is what counts.

It is what you make of it. I don't like to explain them because I think that it takes something away from what each person might get out of it. Perhaps it is only one line that is of value but that is enough.

Ok. Understand now. Thanks for that.

Your poetry is very nice , i have growing up appreciation for poetry . You are good poetry writer .

Thanks for sharing @tarazkp
Upvote you .

Nice Poem. you have created some magic with words.
So touching, so many feelings

I must say that I love those words 👏

Wao, they are very deep words. You should publish a book of poetry.

Great poem. I love the emotion. Wasn't sure if you repeated the word "and" intentionaly or not. Just wanted to let you know so you could edit before the 7 day cutoff. I assumed it was just a typo.

You laughed at the dismay and and the pitch was filled with mad

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07