In the sails

in #poetry5 years ago


In the sails


The storms they were swirling,
bolts were hurling, yet I saw none
for I was safe, you sheltered me from it all.

From the time I was gurgling,
blankets unfurling, playing in the sun
you wanted me to fly, to jump and stand tall.

Noble of desire you were
intentions on the spur, doing all you could
to support me through, all for me or was it you?

Protected and neglected,
mind and body infected, softened wood
as I needed the steel, the world ran me through.

Unseeing with eyes bleeding,
on corpse they are feeding, all is apparent
that it went awry, the pain of life untempered.

Simple tasks to prepare,
poor the lessons fare, the process was errant
for skin is transparent, mind and body uncentered.

Security you wanted
now I am hunted, weak in the group and tied
never left alone, yet always feeling lonely.

Child of cotton wrap,
Life of leather strap, marching on in stride
in average hidden, close but not closely.

Let lightning strike take life,
burn bone to ash,
let wind carry me away this day
and on the shore thrash.
For life to suffer the lessons of the past,
that last until the setting sun,
the dawn soft and full of promise
hindered by a helping hand
to become a life of restriction
told time and again where to stand,
and labelled just who I am.
The worst of it is not the cage
and the knowing it isn't mine,
but without being me
Which I am too fearful to be
the freedom to which you clasped
will never be within my grasp.
Just a whisper on the wind
and not enough to fill a sail,
drifting away like the life slain
taught to always be frail.


Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


Sort:  

A nice poem, to read on this special Sunday. I congratulate you for sharing different types of content every day, you are always active and giving away a little bit of you, thank you.
Good vibes.

Beautiful poem that sums up everything when we pursue freedom.

The imagery that the poem stirs! Words are powerful and you penned them well @tarazkp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12